Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Capital Area Regional Fugitive Task Force

Office Contact

Washington DC

Phone: (202) 682-6061


The mission of the Capital Area Regional Fugitive Force's (CARFTF) is to locate and apprehend the most violent and dangerous fugitives throughout Washington DC metropolitan area, Maryland, and Virginia.  With offices in Washington DC, Virginia, and Maryland, the Capital Area Regional Fugitive Force maintains strong relationships with numerous federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies in order to help ensure the safety of the citizens of our nation's capital and surrounding areas.

Participating Agencies

Federal Agencies
  • United States Marshals Service
  • Department of State
  • Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives
  • Drug Enforcement Administration
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Federal Protective Services
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • U.S. Capitol Police
  • U.S. Mint Police
  • U.S. Postal Inspectors
  • U.S. Secret Service
  • Social Security Administration
State and Local Agencies

District of Columbia

  • DC Department of Corrections
  • DC Metropolitan Police Department


  • Baltimore City Police Department
  • Maryland State Police
  • Montgomery County Sheriff's Office
  • Prince George's County Sheriff's Office


  • Alexandria Police Department
  • Alexandria Sheriff's Office
  • Fairfax County Police Department
  • Herndon Police Department
  • Leesburg Police Department
  • Manassas Park Police Department
  • Prince William County Sheriff's Office
  • Stafford County Police Department
  • Richmond Police Department
  • Stafford County Sheriff's Office
  • Virginia State Police

Area of Service

D.C. District Court


U.S. Marshal: Vacant

Courthouse: E. Barrett Prettyman United States Courthouse

Address: 333 Constitution Avenue Northwest, Suite 1500

Washington, DC 20001-2802

Phone: (202) 353-0600

D.C. District Court

D.C. Superior Court


U.S. Marshal: Robert Anthony Dixon

Courthouse: H. Carl Moultrie Courthouse

Address: 500 Indiana Avenue Northwest, Suite C-250

Washington, DC 20001-2131

Phone: (202) 616-8622

D.C. Superior Court

District of Maryland


U.S. Marshal: Johnny L. Hughes

Courthouse: Edward A. Garmatz United States Courthouse

Address: 101 West Lombard Street, Suite 6115

Baltimore, MD 21201-2674

Phone: (410) 962-2220

Established on September 30, 1789

District of Maryland

Eastern District of Virginia


U.S. Marshal: Nick E. Proffitt

Courthouse: Albert V. Bryan United States Courthouse

Address: 401 Courthouse Square

Alexandria, VA 22314-5701

Phone: (703) 837-5500

Established on February 3, 1971

Eastern District of Virginia

Western District of Virginia


U.S. Marshal: Thomas L. Foster

Courthouse: Richard H. Poff United States Courthouse

Address: 210 Franklin Road Southwest, Suite 210

Roanoke, VA 24011-2216

Phone: (540) 857-2230

Established on September 26, 1789

Western District of Virginia

The policies and procedures of the various U.S. Marshals Service District Offices found on this website may vary depending on local rules, local needs, and legal and policy interpretations. These policies and procedures, and any variations among District Offices, are not intended to, do not, and may not be relied upon to create any rights, substantive or procedural, enforceable at law by any party or person in any matter civil or criminal. Nor are any limitations thereby placed on otherwise lawful U.S. Marshals Service prerogatives.