Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
DOJ us marshals banner

12 U.S. Marshals Employees Receive Attorney General’s Awards


By the Office of Public Affairs

This is a place holder for subtitle.

For immediate release

USMS attorney genral awards Gathering

Washington, DC - Attorney General Merrick B. Garland on Wednesday announced the recipients of the 70th and 71st Annual Attorney General’s Awards, honoring Justice Department employees and others for extraordinary contributions to the enforcement of our nation’s laws. Recipients from both 2022 and 2023 were selected from a group of more than 800 nominees.

Twelve U.S. Marshals Service (USMS) employees received awards for distinguished service, exceptional heroism and contributions and excellence in specialized areas of legal performance.

“Each of today’s recipients has served with distinction, and in so doing, they have enabled the Justice Department to advance its work on behalf of the American people,” said Attorney General Garland.

“Their exceptional leadership, heroism, and dedication have benefited people and communities across the country.

The Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service is the Department’s second highest award for employee performance. USMS recipients of the Distinguished Award were:

Supervisor Deputy U.S. Marshal Jerry Viera; Deputy U.S. Marshals Teddy Josh Moff, Brady M. Flannigan, Troy W. Oberly, and Kyle L. Perry; and Task Force Officers Brandon J. Bansemer and Truman S. Wiles of the U.S. Marshals Service.

The Attorney General’s Award for Exceptional Heroism recognizes a remarkable act of bravery and risk of life while performing official duties. Two Exception Heroism Awards were presented this year, with one going to USMS Senior Inspector Michael Cundiff.

The Attorney General’s Award for Outstanding Contributions to Community Partnerships for Public Safety recognizes excellent achievement in the development and support of community partnerships designed to address public safety within a community. The award recognizes the significant contributions of citizens and organizations that have assisted the Department in the accomplishment of these programs. This award is presented to Deputy U.S. Marshal Albert Maresca Jr.

The John Marshall Awards are the Department’s highest awards presented to attorneys for contributions and excellence in specialized areas of legal performance. Out of 10 awards in eight categories, three went to USMS employees: Assistant Section Chief Jennifer L. Crane of the USMS’ Asset Forfeiture Division; USMS Property Management Specialist Cynthia L. Bridges; and USMS Assistant Chief Inspector Sean M. Xuereb.

Two people one with award in hand

A man talking

70-71 attorney generals awards group of people

Attorney Generals Award team

70-71 attorney generals awards flags

70-71 attorney generals awards

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency