Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

U.S. Marshals Task Force Arrests Subject Wanted for Rape of a Juvenile

For immediate release

Nathan Lupica, Deputy U.S. Marshal

Northern District of Ohio
Elyria, OH

Akron, OH - Early this morning, members of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) and the Akron Police Department arrested Sher Bahadur Bhujel, 28. Bhujel was wanted by the Akron Police Department for rape of a juvenile.

Bhujel was identified as the suspect in a rape case where the victim was under the age of 15. Yesterday, a warrant was issued for Bhujel and officers with the Akron Police Department and the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) began looking for Bhujel. Within a day of the warrant being issued, Bhujel was found at an address in the 1300 block of Alphada Avenue in Akron. While conducting surveillance, officers witnessed Bhujel get into a vehicle after exiting the home. Task force officers moved in quickly to block in the vehicle and arrested Bhujel without incident.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott stated, “The Akron Police Department and members of our task force acted quickly to make an arrest in this case, less than 24 hours after the warrant was issued. Cases like these, where the victim is a child, the task force works relentlessly until the fugitive is apprehended.”

Anyone with information concerning a wanted fugitive can contact the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED (1-866-492-6833), or you can submit a web tip. Reward money is available, and tipsters may remain anonymous.  Follow the U.S. Marshals on Twitter @USMSCleveland.

The NOVFTF Akron Division consists of the following federal, state and local agencies:  The United States Marshals Service, Akron Police Department, Barberton Police Department, Bath Township Police Department, Copley Township Police Department, Cuyahoga Falls Police Department, Fairlawn Police Department, Hudson Police Department, Kent Police Department, New Franklin Police Department, Norton Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Portage County Sheriff’s Office, Reminderville Police Department, Summit County Sheriff’s Office, Tallmadge Police Department, United States Secret Service, University of Akron Police Department, Wayne County Court of Common Pleas.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency