Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

U.S. Marshals Take Akron Homicide Suspect Into Custody; Fugitive Allegedly Discharged Firearm During Arrest

For immediate release

Josh Lowe, Deputy U.S. Marshal

Northern District of Ohio
Cleveland, OH
(216) 276-7505

Akron, OH – This afternoon, members of the U.S. Marshals led Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) arrested Isaiah McKinney, 19. McKinney was wanted by the Akron Police Department for murder.

On April 29, 2024, police responded to an apartment complex in the 1200 block of Everton Drive for shots fired. Preliminary information from the investigation suggested that an altercation between McKinney and the victim occurred before the fatal shooting. Responding officers discovered Gregory Dykes, 37, in the hallway of the apartment complex with a gunshot wound to the head.

Today, members of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force and the Akron Police Department arrested McKinney at a residence near the 600 block of Kling Street, Akron, Ohio. During the arrest attempt, the suspect allegedly discharged a firearm inside the residence. No task force members were injured or returned fire during this incident. Following the arrest, a firearm and a shell casing were located and seized. The Akron Police Department is processing the scene, with additional charges forthcoming.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott stated, “The Akron Police Department continues to be a strong partner of the US Marshals Service. Today is another example of us working together to take a violent fugitive off the street, in an attempt to make the city of Akron a safer place to live for its citizens.”

Anyone with information concerning a wanted fugitive can contact the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED (1-866-492-6833), or you can submit a web tip. Reward money is available, and tipsters may remain anonymous. Follow the U.S. Marshals on Twitter @USMSCleveland.  

The NOVFTF Akron Division consists of the following federal, state and local agencies:  The United States Marshals Service, Akron Police Department, Barberton Police Department, Bath Township Police Department, Copley Township Police Department, Cuyahoga Falls Police Department, Fairlawn Police Department, Hudson Police Department, Kent Police Department, New Franklin Police Department, Norton Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Portage County Sheriff’s Office, Reminderville Police Department, Summit County Sheriff’s Office, Tallmadge Police Department, United States Secret Service, University of Akron Police Department, Wayne County Court of Common Pleas.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency