Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

U.S. Marshals Fugitive Task Force Captures Over 800 Fugitives in East Texas During 2020, Recover Missing Children

For immediate release

Brian Leach, Supervisory Deputy U.S. Marshal

Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force
(903) 590-1370

Tyler, TX– The U.S. Marshals Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force (JETFTF) brought 813 felony fugitives to justice during 2020, bringing the arrest total to 20,305 since its inception back in 2004. These arrests resulted in 1,204 felony warrants being cleared in 2020, adding to the total of 26,774 warrants closed since the Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force was formed. Many of the fugitives the Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force apprehends are wanted on more than one state and/or federal arrest warrant.

Included in the 2020 arrests are 47 homicide warrants, 70 armed or aggravated robberies, 182 sex crimes, 383 narcotics, and 4 kidnappings that Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force spearheaded investigative efforts on. While serving these warrants, Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force members seized 66 illegally possessed firearms, over $600,000.00 and 459kg of various illegal narcotics. Sex offender investigators assigned to the Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force also contributed to local agencies involved in recovering six missing children in 2020.

In keeping with the critical partnerships formed with local law enforcement agencies, the Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force has assisted in organizing sex offender compliance checks in counties and cities throughout East Texas. These compliance checks help local agencies ensure that registered sex offenders residing within their respective jurisdictions are following all applicable state laws governing sex offender registration requirements. The members of the Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force provide valuable expertise in organizing these operations and a tremendous amount of manpower, acting as a force-multiplier for agencies that are often tasked with several other missions.

Despite all the challenges faced in 2020, the Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force stood ready to assist local agencies in keeping our local communities safe from violent crime. "The success of the Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force is a testament to the commitment among state, local, and federal agencies in keeping violent criminals off the streets in our communities", said John Garrison, the U.S. Marshal for the Eastern District of Texas. "The Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force and our partner agencies will not allow violent criminals to use East Texas as a safe haven".

The Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force is comprised of investigators from the following agencies:

Anderson County Sheriff's Office, Beaumont Police Department, Bowie County District Attorney's Office, Carrollton Police Department, Center Police Department, Cherokee County Sheriff's Office, Collin County District attorney's office, Collin County Sheriff's Office, Denton County Sheriff's Office, Denton Police Department, Flower Mound Police Department, Grayson County District attorney's Office, Hardin County Sheriff’s Office, Harrison County Fire Marshal office, Henderson County Sheriff's Office, Henderson Police Department, Houston County Sheriff's Office, Jasper County Sheriff's Office, Jefferson County District Attorney's Office, Jefferson County Sheriff's Office, Lamar County District Attorney's Office, Liberty County Sheriff's Office, Longview Police Department, Lufkin Police Department, Marshall Police Department, Mount Pleasant Police Department, Nacogdoches County Sheriff’s Office, Orange county Sheriff's Office, Palestine Police Department, Panola County Sheriff's Office, Pittsburg Police Department, Plano Police Department, Port Arthur Police Department, Rusk County Sheriff's Office, San Augustine County Constable’s Office, San Augustine County Sheriff's Office, Silsbee Police Department, Smith County Adult Probation Office, Smith County Sheriff's Office, Texas Attorney General's Office, Texas Department of Criminal Justice – Office of the Inspector General, Texas Department of Public Safety, Trinity County District Attorney's Office, Tyler Police Department, Van Zandt County Sheriff's Office, Winnsboro Police Department.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency