Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

U.S. Marshals Arrest 13th Homicide Suspect Since Start of “Operation 2-1-6”

For immediate release

Josh Lowe, Deputy U.S. Marshal

Northern District of Ohio
Cleveland, OH
(216) 276-7505

Euclid, OH – Yesterday afternoon, members of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) arrested Alphonso Jones, 29. Jones was wanted by the Cleveland Division of Police for aggravated murder.

According to the Cleveland Division of Police, on July 8, 2023, a shooting occurred at a residence near the 13800 block of Earlwood Road, Cleveland, OH. A group of individuals were hanging out outside a residence when a verbal altercation broke out between two males. It is alleged that the verbal altercation escalated and turned deadly when Alphonso Jones retreated inside the residence to grab a firearm and returned outside to shoot Jonathan Lanum, 27. Lanum was rushed to University Hospital where he ultimately succumbed to the gunshot wounds.

Yesterday, members of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force arrested Jones at an apartment near the 26100 block of Lakeshore Boulevard, Euclid, OH. This homicide arrest marks the 13th homicide arrest for the NOVFTF since the start of “Operation 2-1-6”, which is a collaborative initiative with the Cleveland Division of Police and other local partners to arrest violent fugitives off the streets of Cleveland.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott stated, “In the first four weeks of “Operation 2-1-6”, close to 100 fugitives have been arrested. These fugitives were wanted for violent offenses, often using a firearm in furtherance of the crime, including homicides, assaults and robberies.”

Anyone with information concerning any wanted fugitive can contact the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED (1-866-492-6833), or you can submit a USMS web tip. Reward money is available, and tipsters may remain anonymous. Follow the U.S. Marshals on Twitter @USMSCleveland.

The Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force – Cleveland Division is composed of the following federal, state and local agencies: U.S. Marshals Service, Cleveland Police Department, Cuyahoga County Sheriff’s Office, Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority Police Department, Euclid Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Independence Police Department, Parma Police Department, Aurora Police Department, Solon Police Department, Cleveland RTA Police Department, Westlake Police Department, Bedford Police Department, Middleburg Heights Police Department, Newburgh Heights Police Department and the Metrohealth Police Department.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency