Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

U.S. Marshals and Multiple Swat Teams Locate and Arrest Columbus Murder Suspect in Dayton

For immediate release

Charles Sanso, Supervisory Deputy U.S. Marshal

Southern District of Ohio
Dayton, OH
(937) 225-2917

Columbus, OH – The U.S. Marshals Southern Ohio Fugitive Apprehension Strike Team (SOFAST) located and arrested fugitive Sir Robert Martin-Sydnor with the assistance of multiple SWAT teams late in the evening of June 21, 2023. Martin-Sydnor was wanted by the Columbus Division of Police in connection with a shooting that occurred in East Linden.

On June 9, 2023, an arrest warrant was issued by the Franklin County Municipal Court for Martin- Sydnor charging him with Murder based on an investigation by the Columbus Division of Police. Martin-Sydnor is alleged to have shot and killed Raphael Jones in the 1900 block of Denune Ave. on that date. The Southern Ohio Fugitive Apprehension Strike Team adopted the case, and their investigation led them to an apartment on Catalpa Drive in Dayton, Ohio. Martin Sydnor was located and arrested after an eight hour-long standoff with U.S. Marshals, Dayton SWAT, Montgomery County SWAT, and the Ohio State Patrol Special Response Team. Martin-Sydnor was transported to the Montgomery County Jail where we will remain pending extradition back to Columbus.

"This arrest is the result of the teamwork and collaboration between the United States Marshals Service and its law enforcement partners across the state. In this case, our investigators were able to determine the location of this dangerous fugitive and then turn over the scene to the SWAT professionals who were able to safely take him into custody." - Michael D. Black, United States Marshal, Southern District of Ohio.

Columbus SOFAST is a fugitive-focused, U.S. Marshals Service-led task force consisting of local, state and federal authorities including the Columbus Division of Police, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Bexley Police Department, Cambridge Police Department, Capital University Police Department, Delaware County Probation Office, Hocking County Sheriff’s Office, Lancaster Police Department, Mount Vernon Police Department, Ohio Attorney General Bureau of Criminal Investigation, Ohio Division of State Fire Marshal, Office of Inspector General Social Security Administration, United States Secret Service, United States Attorney’s Office, Utica Police Department, Washington County Sheriff’s Office, Whitehall Police Department, and Zanesville Police Department.

Dayton SOFAST is a multi-jurisdictional task force comprised of the Dayton Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Shelby County Sheriff’s Office, Springfield Police Department, Greene County Prosecutor’s Office, Miami County Sheriff’s Office, Montgomery County Prosecutor’s Office, Perry Township Police Department, Springboro Police Department, Franklin Police Department, United States Secret Service, Warren County Sheriff’s Office, West Carrollton Police Department, and the Xenia Police Department.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency