Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

U.S. Marshals and Franklin County Swat Arrest Columbus Murder Suspect

For immediate release

Daniel DeVille, Chief Deputy U.S. Marshal

Southern District of Ohio
Columbus, OH
(614) 469-5540

Columbus, OH – The U.S. Marshals Southern Ohio Fugitive Apprehension Strike Team (SOFAST) and Franklin County Sheriff’s Office SWAT team arrested fugitive Brian Banks early this morning.

Brian Banks was wanted by the Columbus Division of Police for Aggravated Murder, Aggravated Robbery, Murder, Weapons Under Disability, Improper Handling of a Firearm, and Felonious Assault. On January 31, 2024, Banks was indicted in the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas on the above charges stemming from his alleged involvement in the shooting deaths of Je'Vohn Hill, 27 years old, and 26-year-old Jeronn Hill in March 2017 at a home on Maize Road. The U.S. Marshals adopted the case, and the investigation led them to the 900 Block of John H Herrick Drive in Columbus. Banks was safely taken into custody and is being held at the Franklin County Jail.

“The arrest of this alleged homicide suspect is the result of the teamwork and collaboration between our Deputy U.S. Marshals and the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office’s SWAT Team. The combination of our investigative resources and SWAT’s tactical expertise allows us to safely and quickly locate and arrest those accused of the most violent of offenses.” - Michael D. Black, United States Marshal.

Columbus SOFAST is a fugitive-focused, U.S. Marshals Service-led task force consisting of local, state and federal authorities including the Columbus Division of Police, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Bexley Police Department, Cambridge Police Department, Capital University Police Department, Delaware County Probation Office, Groveport Police Department, Hocking County Sheriff’s Office, Lancaster Police Department,
Mount Vernon Police Department, Ohio Attorney General Bureau of Criminal Investigation, Ohio Division of State Fire Marshal, Office of Inspector General Social Security Administration, United States Attorney’s Office, Utica Police Department, Washington County Sheriff’s Office, Whitehall Police Department, and Zanesville Police Department.

Anyone with information on any fugitive may send an anonymous web tip.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency