Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

Two Missing Teens Located Safe in Akron, Ohio

For immediate release

Alex Rutter, Supervisory Deputy U.S. Marshal

Northern District of Ohio
Toledo, OH
(419) 259-7430

Akron, OH – The U.S. Marshals Service (USMS) and Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) recently began investigating the whereabouts of Makenzie Carson (15), a missing juvenile. Carson had been reported missing to the Ohio Department of Natural Resources after she couldn’t be located around her campsite at the Mosquito Creek State Park on July 7, 2022. Her whereabouts up until this morning were unknown. The USMS Missing Child Unit has been vigorously investigating her whereabouts in conjunction with local law enforcement agencies. Earlier today, cooperative efforts between the U.S. Marshals Service, Ohio Department of Natural Resources, the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation and Identification, and the Portage County Sheriff’s Office resulted in the recovery of Carson and another 16-year-old male runaway from Portage County. Carson was returned to her family and the male was taken to the Portage County Juvenile Center.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott praised the collaborative efforts of all the law enforcement agencies who helped work towards these recoveries. Marshal Elliott stated, “Runaway teens, much like fugitives, often cross jurisdictional boundaries and even go to great lengths to avoid being found. This type of cooperation has proven time and again to be the most effective way of finding them.”

Anyone with information on a missing or endangered juvenile is asked to call the U.S. Marshals at 1-866-492-6833. Callers can remain anonymous. Additional information is available through the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children at

The Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force – Akron Division is composed of the following federal, state and local agencies: U.S. Marshals Service, Akron Police Department, Barberton Police Department, Bath Township Police Department, Copley Township Police Department, Cuyahoga Falls Police Department, Hudson Police Department, Kent Police Department, New Franklin Police Department, Norton Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Portage County Sheriff’s Office, Reminderville Police Department, Summit County Sheriff’s Office, Tallmadge Police Department, United States Secret Service, University of Akron Police Department, Wayne County Court of Common Pleas.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency