Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

Two Men Arrested by U.S. Marshals for Akron Homicide From July of 2021

For immediate release

Josh Lowe, Deputy U.S. Marshal

Northern District of Ohio
Cleveland, OH
(216) 276-7505

Akron, OH– This morning, members of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) located and arrested Desean Williamson, 23, and Teion Thompson, 21. Both were wanted by the Akron Police Department. Williamson was wanted for murder and Thompson was wanted for complicity to commit murder and obstructing justice.

On July 25, 2021, Gage Zirke, 20, was found shot to death in the driver’s seat of his vehicle after crashing into a tree near the 2300 block of 11th Street in Akron. According to Akron Police, the cause of death was a gunshot wound to the torso. Williams and Thompson are alleged to be the responsible parties for Zirke’s death. They were involved in a verbal altercation with Zirke that turned deadly.

This morning, task force members arrested Williamson at an address near the 800 block of Winnefeld Way in Akron. Task force members also arrested Thompson at an address near the 1100 block of Eddy Road in Cleveland. U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott stated, “Diligent investigative work by the Akron Police Department identified these two suspects who were wanted for an offense that happened almost 2 years ago. Our team successfully arrested both suspects within minutes of one another today.”

Anyone with information concerning any wanted fugitive can contact the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED (1-866-492-6833), or you can send a web tip. Reward money is available and tipsters may remain anonymous.  Follow the U.S. Marshals on Twitter @USMSCleveland 

The NOVFTF Akron Division consists of the following federal, state and local agencies:  The United States Marshals Service, Akron Police Department, Barberton Police Department, Bath Township Police Department, Copley Township Police Department, Cuyahoga Falls Police Department, Fairlawn Police Department, Hudson Police Department, Kent Police Department, New Franklin Police Department, Norton Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Portage County Sheriff’s Office, Reminderville Police Department, Summit County Sheriff’s Office, Tallmadge Police Department, United States Secret Service, University of Akron Police Department, Wayne County Court of Common Pleas.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency