Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

Man Wanted in Connection With Akron Homicide Arrested in North Dakota

For immediate release

Josh Lowe, Deputy U.S. Marshal

Northern District of Ohio
Cleveland, OH
(216) 276-7505

Bismarck, ND – This afternoon, the United States Marshals Service fugitive task force in North Dakota arrested Martell King, 28. King was wanted by the Akron Police Department for aggravated murder.

King is suspected of being involved in a shooting that took place in the 2100 block of 12th Street SW in Akron. The incident occurred at 11:40pm on Saturday, January 29, 2022. A 26-year-old man had been shot while standing on the front porch of a residence. He was transported to Akron General Medical Center and died later from his injuries. On March 10, 2023, Mexican authorities in collaboration with the United States Marshals Service, arrested Leslie Lopez, 26, at an address near the 2300 block of Calle General Tomas de la Garza, Neuvo Laredo, Tamaulipas Mexico.

This evening, members of the U.S. Marshals High Plains Fugitive Task Force in the District of North Dakota arrested Martell King at an address near the 1100 block of N. 3rd Street, Bismarck, North Dakota. This arrest was a direct result of information developed by members of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) from Akron, Ohio.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott stated, “After almost a year of relentless investigative efforts by our task force members, this violent fugitives’ run from law enforcement is over. The reach of the U.S. Marshals Service was showcased in this investigation, with one suspect being arrested in another country and the other being arrested over 1000 miles from Akron.”

Anyone with information concerning any wanted fugitive can contact the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED (1-866-492-6833), or you can submit a web tip. Reward money is available and tipsters may remain anonymous.  Follow the U.S. Marshals on Twitter @USMSCleveland.

The NOVFTF Akron Division consists of the following federal, state and local agencies:  The United States Marshals Service, Akron Police Department, Barberton Police Department, Bath Township Police Department, Copley Township Police Department, Cuyahoga Falls Police Department, Fairlawn Police Department, Hudson Police Department, Kent Police Department, New Franklin Police Department, Norton Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Portage County Sheriff’s Office, Reminderville Police Department, Summit County Sheriff’s Office, Tallmadge Police Department, United States Secret Service, University of Akron Police Department, Wayne County Court of Common Pleas.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency