Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

Another Out of State Murder Suspect Arrested by U.S. Marshals in the Cleveland Area

For immediate release

Josh Lowe, Deputy U.S. Marshal

Northern District of Ohio
Cleveland, OH
(216) 276-7505

Cleveland, OH – This afternoon, members of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) arrested Stephen Johnson, 27, who was wanted by the Little Rock Police Department in Arkansas for capital murder.

According to police, Johnson was involved in the shooting death of Avron Britton, 21, of College Station, Arkansas that occurred on November 27, 2023. On that date, officers responded to 2800 block of Boyle Park Rd following a report of a person being shot. Upon arrival, they found Britton lying in the road and suffering from gunshot wounds. A warrant was issued for Johnson’s arrest on December 3, 2023.

Today, members of the U.S. Marshals, NOVFTF arrested Johnson at an address in the 11800 block of Imperial Ave. in Cleveland. Johnson was booked into the Cuyahoga County Jail, where he will await his extradition back to Little Rock, Arkansas.

This marks the second arrest of a person wanted for murder charges outside the state of Ohio within 24 hours.  Yesterday, members of the task force arrested Davonte Childs who was wanted for murder in Georgia.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott stated, “Northern Ohio is not a safe haven for fugitives wanted for murder. The officers that make up our fugitive task force take pride in protecting the streets of northern Ohio, by taking violent fugitives, no matter where they are from, off our streets.”

Anyone with information concerning any wanted fugitive can contact the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED (1-866-492-6833), or you can submit a web tip. Reward money is available, and tipsters may remain anonymous.  Follow the U.S. Marshals on Twitter @USMSCleveland.

The Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force – Cleveland Division is composed of the following federal, state and local agencies:  U.S. Marshals Service, Cleveland Police Department, Cuyahoga County Sheriff’s Office, Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority Police Department, Euclid Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Independence Police Department, Parma Police Department, Aurora Police Department, Solon Police Department, Cleveland RTA Police Department, Westlake Police Department, Bedford Police Department, Middleburg Heights Police Department, Newburgh Heights Police Department and the Metrohealth Police Department.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency