Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

Akron Man who Skipped Sentencing After Shooting at Juveniles Arrested by U.S. Marshals

For immediate release

Josh Lowe, Deputy U.S. Marshal

Northern District of Ohio
Cleveland, OH
(216) 276-7505

Akron, OH – This afternoon, members of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) arrested Tyler Duncan, 21. Duncan was wanted by the Summit County Sheriff’s Office for failure to appear at sentencing.

On October 11, 2020, Duncan shot at two juvenile males who were playing basketball at a park near the 1400 block of Rockaway Street in Akron. After pleading guilty to the charges, Duncan was scheduled to be sentenced for his crimes on August 8, 2022. Duncan did not show up for his sentencing in the Summit County Common Pleas court. Subsequently, a warrant for his arrest was issued. This afternoon, members of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) and the Akron Police Department S.W.A.T. Unit arrested Duncan at a residence near the 1400 block of Grant Street in Akron. Duncan initially barricaded himself in an upstairs bedroom of the residence with a firearm. S.W.A.T. arrived on scene and eventually negotiated with Duncan to surrender. Three firearms were seized from the residence after the arrest.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott stated "The Akron Police Department is one of our strongest partners and we will continue to work side by side with them to make Akron a safe city to live. The actions by the Akron Police Department and our task force today resulted in the safe arrest of a violent fugitive."

Anyone with information concerning any wanted fugitive can contact the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED (1-866-492-6833), or you can send a web tip. Reward money is available, and tipsters may remain anonymous.

The Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force – Akron Division is composed of the following federal, state and local agencies:  U.S. Marshals Service, Akron Police Department, Barberton Police Department, Bath Township Police Department, Copley Township Police Department, Cuyahoga Falls Police Department, Hudson Police Department, Kent Police Department, New Franklin Police Department, Norton Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Portage County Sheriff’s Office, Reminderville Police Department, Summit County Sheriff’s Office, Tallmadge Police Department, United States Secret Service, University of Akron Police Department, Wayne County Court of Common Pleas.    


Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency