Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
Press Release
DOJ us marshals banner

2 Juveniles Missing From Akron Recovered in Miami, Florida

For immediate release

Akron, OH – Earlier today members of the U.S. Marshals Service in Miami, Florida recovered two missing juveniles from Akron, Ohio.

On May 3, 2022, the Summit County Juvenile Court ordered two children, ages 8 and 12, removed from the custody of their mother due to serious mental health issues and concern for the children’s safety.

The mother chose not to comply with the order, resulting in a warrant being issued for the mother and the children being reported as missing. The initial investigation by Akron Police Detectives determined the mother fled to Florida with the kids and requested U.S. Marshals Service assistance in locating and recovering the kids.

Late this morning, U.S. Marshals were able to safely locate the two children in Miami and the mother was taken into custody for the active warrants issued for her.

The children are awaiting relatives to pick them up and the mother is being held pending extradition to Ohio.

The names of the children are being withheld to protect their identity.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott stated, “We are pleased with the outcome of this case, the children are safe, and they will be returned to Ohio. Diligent work by the Akron Police Department's Detectives and members of our task force certainly led to the quick recovery of these two kids.”

Anyone with information concerning any wanted fugitive can contact the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED (1-866-492-6833), or you can send a web tip. Reward money is available and tipsters may remain anonymous.

The Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force - Akron Division consists of the following federal, state and local agencies: Akron Police Department, Barberton Police Department, Bath Township Police Department Copley Township Police Department, Cuyahoga Falls Police Department, Hudson Police Department, Kent Police Department, New Franklin Police Department, Norton Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Portage County Sheriff’s Office, Reminderville Police Department, Summit County Sheriff’s Office, Tallmadge Police Department, United States Marshals Service, United States Secret Service, University of Akron Police Department, Wayne County Court of Common Pleas.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency