News Banner

For Immediate Release

April 07, 2022 Anne Murphy, Public Affairs Officer
Northern District of Ohio (216) 276-7505;
U.S. Marshals Office of Public Affairs (703) 740-1699
Rape Suspect Arrested by U.S. Marshals Task Force

Cleveland, OH – Early this morning, members of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) and the Oakwood Village Police Department arrested Detemtrius Simmons, 22. Simmons was wanted by the Oakwood Village Police Department for rape.

Simmons was identified as the suspect in a rape case where the victim was under the age of 10. Yesterday morning, a warrant was issued for Simmons and officers with Oakwood Village and the NOVFTF began looking for Simmons. Within a day of the warrant being issued, Simmons was found at an address in the 4500 block of Granada Blvd in Warrensville Hts. When members of the task force made contact at the front door of the home the occupants were noncompliant, and the door was forced open by officers. Once inside the home Simmons was taken into custody without further incident. Additionally, Woodrow Johnson, 23, was also arrested at the home. Johnson had an active warrant from the Cuyahoga County Sheriff’s Department for probation violation with underlying offenses of assault and burglary.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott stated, “Swift work by the Oakwood Village Police and members of our task force have taken a violent individual who preyed on a child off the streets. Law enforcement will work day and night to ensure that predators such as this are behind bars and not roaming through society.”

Anyone with information concerning any wanted fugitive can contact the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED (1-866-492-6833), or you can send a web tip. Reward money is available and tipsters may remain anonymous.

The Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force – Cleveland Division is composed of the following federal, state and local agencies: U.S. Marshals Service, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Cleveland Police Department, Cuyahoga County Sheriff’s Office, Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority Police Department, Euclid Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Independence Police Department, Parma Police Department, Aurora Police Department, Solon Police Department, Cleveland RTA Police Department, Westlake Police Department, Bedford Police Department, Middleburg Heights Police Department, Newburgh Heights Police Department and the Metrohealth Police Department.



America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency