Skip to Content

U.S. Marshals Service

U.S. Marshals Service for Students


The Judiciary Act of 1789 set up the 13 offices (today there are 94 offices) of the U.S. Marshals. They are nominated by the President and approved by the Congress.

The U.S. Marshals serve as officers of the federal courts, and are responsible for:

  • making sure the federal courts are free to work fairly
  • taking care of security for federal courts
  • keeping order in courtrooms and other court areas
  • carrying out court orders

The Marshals Service also responds to emergency situations, such as:

  • civil disturbances that break federal law or threaten federal property
  • enforcement of voting right laws

The United States Constitution established three separate branches of the federal government. These branches are:

  • Legislative: includes the Congress–they make federal laws.
  • Executive:   includes the President and other departments and agencies–they enforce federal laws and the federal court’s decisions. (The United States Marshals Service is in this branch.)
  • Judicial:  includes the federal courts–they understand the law and settle differences.

Even though these three branches have separate powers and duties, they work together to protect the rights of all Americans (this refers to “checks and balances”).

Learn more: is an official site of the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. Department of Justice