NORTH DAKOTA
39th State - November 2, 1889

DISTRICT

DATE CREATED

STATUTORY CITATION

Territory of Dakota

March 2, 1861

12 Stat. 239, 242

District of North Dakota*

February 22, 1889*

25 Stat. 676, 682*

^{*} Effective upon the admission of North Dakota as a State on November 2, 1889.

TERRITORY OF DAKOTA

(Established as Territory on March 2, 1861, and remained Territory until November 2, 1889. After 1889, see Districts of North and South Dakota)

MARSHAL	DATE	VICE
Shaffer, William F.	March 27, 1861	Original Appointment
Pinney, George M.	July 15, 1962(S)	Shaffer (Resigned)
Litchfield, Laban H.	February 23, 1865(S) April 6, 1869(S)	Pinney (Nominated As Marshal of Montana)
Burdick, James H.	December 19, 1872(S) January 30, 1877(S)	Litchfield (Deceased)
Raymond, John B.	November 12, 1877(S)	Burdick (Resigned)
Allen, Harrison	August 4, 1882(S)	Raymond (Term Expired) Strong, B.B. (Declined)
Maratta, Daniel W.	October 9, 1885(R) July 26, 1886(S)	Allen (Resigned)

DISTRICT OF NORTH DAKOTA

(Admitted as State with one judicial district on November 2, 1889. District Court created by Act of February 22, 1889, effective upon admission of North Dakota as a State.)

MARSHAL	<u>DATE</u>	VICE
Price, Albert F.	February 27, 1890(C)	Original Appointment Haggert, J.E. (Declined)
Cronan, Joseph E.	January 23, 1894(C)	Price (Resigned)
Haggart, John E.	January 17, 1898(C) January 21, 1902(C)	Cronan (Term Expired)
Haggart, Gilbert W.	September 20, 1905(C.A.)	Haggart, J.E. (Deceased)
Shea, James F.	December 18, 1905(C) February 18, 1910(C)	Haggart, G.W. (C.A.)
Doyle, Stephen J.	April 1, 1914(C) March 17, 1918(C)	Shea (Term Expired)
Shea, James F.	March 14, 1922(C)	Doyle (Removed)
Mudgett, Charles F.	November 22, 1926(R)	Shea (Term Expired)
Gunvaldsen, Osmund	March 1, 1927(C) March 2, 1931(C)	Mudgett (Recess Appointee)
Doyle, Stephen J.	June 27, 1934(R) February 16, 1935(C) May 23, 1939 (C)	Gunvaldsen (Removed)
McLean, Fred W.	August 3, 1940(C.A.)	Doyle (Deceased)
Foresman, Chester M.	November 19, 1941(C) October 2, 1945(C) May 20, 1950(C)	McLean (C.A.)
Eaton, Jonathan C.	January 22, 1953(C.A.)	Foresman (Resigned)
Tenborg, Harry R.	August 12, 1954(C) June 24, 1958 (C)	Eaton (C.A.)
Anderson, Anson J.	April 14, 1961(C) August 11, 1965(C)	Tenborg (Resigned)
Link, Walter J.	June 20, 1969(C)	Anderson (Resigned)
Bumann, Alvin	September 28, 1975 (C.A.) April 1, 1976 (C)	Link (Resigned)
Warren, Harold C.	May 25, 1977(C)	Bumann (Resigned)

DISTRICT OF NORTH DAKOTA (Continued)

MARSHAL	DATE	<u>VICE</u>
Muir, Kenneth B.	June 12, 1981(C.A.) December 9, 1981(C)	Warren (Resigned)
Tennyson, George L.	February 17, 1983	Muir (Deceased)
Wood, Errol Lee	February 28, 1984(C)	
Berg, Brian	February 11, 1994(C)	Wood (Term Expired)