NEW MEXICO 47th State - January 6, 1912

DISTRICT

DATE CREATED

STATUTORY CITATION

Territory of New Mexico*

September 9, 1850*

9 Stat. 446, 450*

District of New Mexico*

June 20, 1910**

36 Stat. 557, 565**

^{*} Effective on President's Proclamation of March 3, 1851.

^{**} Effective upon admission of New Mexico as a State on January 6, 1912.

TERRITORY OF NEW MEXICO

(Established as Territory in 1850* and remained Territory until New Mexico became a State on January 6, 1912.)

MARSHAL	DATE	VICE
Jones, John	March 12, 1851(S)	Original Appointment
Rumley, Charles S.	April 5, 1853(S)	Jones (Removed)
Blumner, Charles	September 15, 1853(R) March 14, 1854(S)	Rumley (Removed)
Clever, Charles P.	March 30, 1858(S)	Blumner (Resigned)
Archibald, Albert W.	September 13, 1861(R)	Clever (Removed) Keithly(Declined)
Cutler, Abraham	April 4, 1862(S)	Archibald (Recess Appointee)
Pratt, John	January 26, 1866(S) May 28, 1870(S) May 27, 1874(S)	Cutler (Removed)
Sherman, John E., Jr.	May 24, 1876(S) June 15, 1880(S)	Pratt (Resigned)
Morrison, A.L.	March 23, 1882	Sherman (Resigned)
Martinez, Romulo	June 8, 1885(R) May 28, 1886(S)	Morrison (Suspended)
Romero, Trinidad	November 7, 1889(R) February 6, 1890(S)	Martinez (Removed)
Hall, Edward L.	May 16, 1893(R) August 29, 1893(S)	Romero (Removed)
Foraker, Creighton M.	July 24, 1897(S) June 13, 1901(R) December 17, 1901(S) December 19, 1905(S) January 11, 1910(S)	Hall (Removed)

DISTRICT OF NEW MEXICO

(District Court created by Act of June 20, 1910, effective upon New Mexico's admission as a State on January 6, 1912.)

MARSHAL	DATE	<u>VICE</u>
Foraker, Creighton M.	March 1, 1912	Himself as Marshal of Territory of New Mexico
Romero, Secundino	August 20, 1912(C)	Foraker (Resigned)
Hudspeth, Andrew H.	May 20, 1913(C) June 2, 1917(C)	Romero (Resigned)
Romero, Secundino	July 19, 1921(C)	Hudspeth (Resigned)
Tondre, Joseph F.	June 30, 1926(C)	Romero (Term Expired)
Sanchez y Baca, Felipe	March 2, 1934(C) June 2, 1939(C) October 1, 1943(C) February 6, 1948(C) April 1, 1949(C.A.)	Tondre (Term Expired)
Lopez, Martin	January 3, 1951(C)	Sanchez y Baca (Retired)
Beach, George W.	May 8, 1953(C) May 24, 1957 (C)	Lopez (Removed)
Fresquez, Dave	April 14, 1961(C) May 1, 1965(C.A.)	Beach (Resigned)
Naranjo, Emilio	October 16, 1965(C)	Fresquez (Retired)
Baca, Doroteo R.	June 20, 1969(C) August 3, 1973 (C)	Naranjo (Resigned)
Martinez, Bennie A.	September 16, 1977(C)	Baca (Resigned)
Rupe, Jackson J.	February 18, 1981(C.A.)	Martinez (Retired)
Miller, Rudolph G.	March 9, 1982(C)	•
Baca, Doroteo R.	December 14, 1986(C)	Miller (Resigned)
Solis, Alfonso	February 26, 1987(C.A.) December 9, 1987(C)	Baca (Retired)
Lehmann, Michael	August 21, 1992(AG)	Solis (Reassiged)
Sanchez, John	February 11, 1994(C)	Lehmann (Retired)