<u>NEW HAMPSHIRE</u> 9th State - June 21, 1788

DISTRICT

DATE CREATED

STATUTORY CITATION

District of New Hampshire

September 24, 1789

1 Stat. 73, 87_

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

(One of the original 13 states. District Court created by Judiciary Act of September 24, 1789.)

(·· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	, , ,
MARSHAL	DATE	VICE
Parker, John	September 26, 1789	Original Appointment
Rogers, Nathaniel	November 16, 1791(R) November 17, 1795(R) December 15, 1795(S)	Parker (Deceased)
Cilley, Bradbury	March 19, 1798(S)	Rogers (Appointed Supervisor)
McClary, Michael	April 29, 1802(S) April 26, 1806(R) December 17, 1806(S) January 9, 1811(S) December 12, 1814(S) December 9, 1818(S) December 20, 1822(S)	Cilley (Term Expired)
Cogswell, Pearson	March 15, 1824(S) January 9, 1828(S) April 26, 1832(S)	McClary (Resigned)
Lane, Charles	March 3, 1836(S) February 17, 1840(S)	Cogswell (Term Expired)
Kelley, Israel W.	April 12, 1841(R) July 22, 1841(S)	Lane (Removed)
Barton, Cyrus	July 25, 1845(R) February 24, 1846(S)	Kelley (Term Expired)
Garfield, Samuel	April 25, 1850(S)	Barton (Term Expired)
Swasey, Samuel	April 30, 1853(R)	Garfield (Removed)
Tilton, Samuel	May 14, 1853(R) March 14, 1854(S)	Swasey (Recess Appointee)
Dearborn, Stephen W.	May 3, 1858(S)	Tilton (Term Expired)
Gilman, Joseph	April 16, 1861(R)	Dearborn (Removed)
Ela, Jacob H.	July 23, 1861(S) January 15, 1866(S)	Gilman (Nomination Withdrawn)
Patterson, Joab N.	March 21, 1867(S) March 31, 1871(S) March 19, 1875(S) February 19, 1879(S) March 2, 1883(S)	Ela (Removed) Jarvis (Nomination Rejected)

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE (Continued)

MARSHAL	DATE	VICE
Barker, Fred A.	October 25, 1886(R) January 13, 1887(S)	Patterson (Resigned)
Pierce, Adams T.	August 13, 1890(S)	Barker (Removed)
Campbell, Clark	July 18, 1894(S)	Pierce (Term Expired)
Nute, Eugene P.	March 13, 1899(R) December 19, 1899(S) November 23, 1903(C) December 16, 1907(C) December 18, 1911(C)	Campbell (Term Expired)
O'Neill, Charles J.	June 30, 1914(C) July 6, 1918(C)	Nute (Resigned)
Murchie, William	September 24, 1920(C.A.) October 7, 1920(R)	O'Neill (Deceased)
La Chance, Joseph E.	December 1, 1920(R) March 8, 1921(C.A.)	Murchie (Declined Permanent Appointment)
Donnelly, Thomas B.	July 7, 1921(C)	La Chance(C.A.)
Phillips, Perley B.	September 29, 1923(C.A.)	Donnelly (Resigned)
Chretien, Alfred J.	June 5, 1925(R) December 14, 1925(C) January 16, 1930(C)	Phillips (C.A.)
Guay, John M.	June 18, 1934(C) June 8, 1938(C)	Chretien (Term Expired)
Roy, Alphonse	July 28, 1945(C) August 19, 1949(C)	Guay (Term Expired)
Colbath, George A.	July 31, 1953(C) May 8, 1958(C)	Roy (Resigned)
Dion, Royal	June 23, 1961(C)	Colbath (Separated)
April, Paul G.	April 25, 1963(C) July 31, 1967(C)	Dion (Resigned)
Cardosi, Victor	May 15, 1969(C) August 3, 1973(C)	April (Resigned)
Brunelle, Richard	July 18, 1977(C.A.)	Cardosi (Resigned)

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE (Continued)

MARSHAL	DATE	<u>VICE</u>
Raiche, Robert E.	September 8, 1977(C)	Brunelle (C.A.)
Brunelle, Richard	January 4, 1981(C.A.)	Raiche (Resigned)
Daniels, Ronald D.	December 1, 1981(C)	Brunelle (C.A.)
Waite, Donald	March 12, 1988(C.A.)	Daniels (Resigned)
Goldberg, Sydney	December 30, 1989(A.G.)	Waite (Retired)
Gilbert, Robert F.	February 9, 1990(C)	Goldberg (A.G.)
Gagnon, Raymond	March 28, 1994(C)	Gilbert (Term Expired)