## MINNESOTA 32nd State - May 11, 1858

District	Date Created	Statutory Citation
Territory of Minnesota	March 3, 1849	9 Stat. 403, 406
District of Minnesota	May 11, 1858	11 Stat. 285

## TERRITORY OF MINNESOTA

(Established as Territory on March 3, 1849, and remained Territory until Minnesota became a State on May 11, 1858.)

MARSHAL	DATE	VICE
Taylor, Joshua L.	March 19, 1849(S)	Original Appointment
Mitchell, Alexander M.	April 25, 1850(S)	
Tilden, Henry L.	March 10, 1851(S)	
Furbur, Joseph W.	October 10, 1851(R) February 9, 1852(S)	Tilden (Removed)
Irwin, M.W.	June 11, 1853(R) March 14, 1854(S)	Furbur (Resigned)
Gere, William B.	June 10, 1857(R)	Irwin (Resigned)

## DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA

(Admitted as State with one judicial district on May 11, 1858)

MARSHAL	DATE	VICE
Gere, William B.	May 20, 1858(S)	Himself as Marshal of Territory of Minnesota
Buck, Cornelius F.	March 21, 1861(S)	Gere (Removed)
Eaton, Charles	March 20, 1862(S) April 26, 1866(S)	Buck (Resigned)
Armstrong, Augustus	April 16, 1869(S)	Eaton (Removed)
McLaren, Robert N.	December 8, 1873(S) November 30, 1877(S)	Armstrong (Term Expired)
Denny, Henry R.	February 20, 1882(S)	McLaren (Term Expired)
Campbell, William M.	May 5, 1886(S)	Denny (Term Expired)
Donahower, Jeremiah C.	May 2, 1890(S)	Campbell (Term Expired)
Bede, J. Adam	February 26, 1894(S)	Donahower (Resigned)
O'Connor, Richard T.	February 22, 1895(S)	Bede (Resigned) Campbell (Rejected)
Grimshaw, William H.	March 11, 1899(R) December 19, 1899(S) December 18, 1903(C) December 16, 1907(C) December 19, 1911(C)	O'Connor (Term Expired)
Wessel, Joseph A.	March 20, 1916(C)	Grimshaw (Term Expired)
Rustad, Edward	June 1, 1921(C) February 9, 1927(C)	Wessel (Term Expired)
Anderson, Bernard	February 23, 1931(C)	Rustad (Term Expired)
Farrell, John J.	March 5, 1935(C) May 23, 1939(C) October 2, 1943(C)	Anderson (Term Expired)
Sommer, Frank W.	October 14, 1946(R)	Farrell (Deceased)
McGowan, John Joseph	December 31, 1947(R) May 6, 1948(C)	Sommer (Recess Appointee)
Erickson, C. Enard	March 24, 1953(C) July 8, 1957(C)	McGowan (Term Expired)

.

## DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA (Continued)

MARSHAL	DATE	<u>VICE</u>
Sieben, Harry A.	April 14, 1961(C)	Erickson (Resigned)
Thompson, William J.	July 23, 1962	Sieben (Resigned)
Hemenway, Ray H.	November 7, 1962(R) March 27, 1963(C)	Thompson (C.A.)
Redpath, James H.	September 1, 1966(C.A.)	Hemenway (Resigned)
Malchow, William F.	March 4, 1967(C)	Redpath (C.A.)
Bergland, Harry D.	August 8, 1969(C) May 6, 1974(C)	Malchow (Resigned)
Lane, Wesley David	August 2, 1977(C)	Bergland (Resigned)
Pavlak, Robert L.	December 9, 1981(C) February 6, 1986(C)	Lane (Term Expired)
Bennett, Tony	August 7, 1990(C)	Pavlak (Term Expired)
Zacharias, Charles L.	March 11, 1994(C)	Bennett (Resigned)