KANSAS 34th State - January 29, 1861

<u>DISTRICT</u> <u>DATE CREATED</u> <u>STATUTORY CITATION</u>

Territory of Kansas May 30, 1854 10 Stat. 277, 281

District of Kansas January 29, 1861 12 Stat. 126, 128

TERRITORY OF KANSAS

(Established as Territory on May 30, 1854, and remained Territory until Kansas was admitted as a State on January 29, 1861)

MARSHAL	<u>DATE</u>	<u>VICE</u>
Donaldson, J.B.	June 29, 1854(S)	Original Appointment
Spencer, William	November 29, 1856(R)	Donaldson (Resigned)
Dennis, Elias S.	March 12, 1857(S)	Spencer (Recess Appointee)
Winston, Isaac	March 1, 1858(S)	Dennis (Removed)
Fain, William P.	June 16, 1858(S)	Winston (Removed)
Colby, Philip T.	February 3, 1859(S)	Fain (Resigned)

DISTRICT OF KANSAS
(Admitted as State with one judicial district on January 29, 1861)

MARSHAL	DATE	<u>VICE</u>
McDowell, James L.	March 23, 1861(S)	Original Appointment
Osborne, Thomas A.	April 20, 1864(S)	McDowell (Resigned)
Whiting, Charles C.	March 7, 1867(S)	Osborne (Removed)
Houston, David W.	January 24, 1870(S)	
Tough, William S.	March 22, 1873(S)	
Miller, Charles H.	March 27, 1876(S)	Tough (Resigned)
Simpson, Benjamin F.	March 18, 1878(S) April 28, 1882(S)	Miller (Removed)
Jones, William C.	August 5, 1885(R) March 12, 1886(S)	Simpson (Removed)
Walker, Richard L.	May 17, 1889(R) January 20, 1890 (S)	Jones (Removed)
Neely, Shaw F.	January 12, 1894(S)	Walker (Resigned)
Sterne, William Edgar	January 10, 1898(S)	Neely (Term Expired)
Crum, Littleton S.	January 28, 1902(S)	Sterne (Term Expired)
Mackey, William H., Jr.	August 4, 1902(R) December 9, 1902(S) January 8, 1907(C)	Crum (Deceased)
Harrison, John R.	July 24, 1911(C)	Mackey (Term Expired)
Wood, Otho T.	June 9, 1914(C.A.) June 25, 1914(C) July 6, 1918(C)	Harrison (Removed)
Fitzpatrick, Fred R.	September 27, 1921(C) December 21, 1925(C)	Wood (Resigned)
MacIvor, Donald H.	February 19, 1930(C)	Fitzpatrick (Term Expired)
Warner, Lon	May 4, 1934(C) May 31, 1938(C)	MacIvor (Term Expired)
Lindsay, William M.	March 18, 1940(C.A.) April 12, 1940(C) May 9, 1944(C)	Warner (Removed)
Regan, Joseph P.	July 27, 1949(C)	Lindsay (Term Expired)

DISTRICT OF KANSAS (Continued)

MARSHAL	DATE	<u>VICE</u>
Kemper, Eugene L.	September 3, 1953(R) March 11, 1954(C) May 8, 1958(C)	Regan (Term Expired)
Collins, Vance W.	November 20, 1961(R) March 12, 1962(C) July 22, 1966(C)	Kemper (Separated)
Richardson, Jack V.	October 3, 1969(C) November 20, 1973(C)	Collins (Separated)
Cantwell, Bernal D.	September 15, 1977(C)	Richardson (Resigned)
Pekarek, Kenneth L.	December 9, 1981(C)	Cantwell (Term Expired)
Rock, Richard Rand II	February 11, 1994(C)	Pekarek (Reassigned)