29th State - December 28, 1846

<u>DISTRICT</u>	DATE CREATED	STATUTORY CITATION
Territory of Iowa*	June 12, 1838*	5 Stat. 235, 238*
District of Iowa**	March 3, 1845**	5 Stat. 789**
Southern District of Iowa	July 20, 1882	22 Stat. 172
Northern District of Iowa	July 20, 1882	22 Stat. 172

^{*} Effective July 3, 1838
** Effective upon admission of Iowa as a State on December 28, 1846.

TERRITORY OF IOWA

(Established as Territory on June 12, 1838 and remained Territory until Iowa became State on December 28, 1846.)

MARSHAL	DATE	<u>VICE</u>
Gehon, Francis	June 26, 1838(S)	Original Appointment
Johnson, Thomas B.	March 25, 1841(R) July 22, 1841(S)	Gehon (Removed)
Leffler, Isaac	March 25, 1843(R) January 16, 1844(S)	Johnson (Removed)
Bailey, Gideon S.	July 3, 1845(R) February 24, 1846(S)	Leffler (Removed)

DISTRICT OF IOWA

(District Court of Iowa established on March 3, 1845, effective upon admission of Iowa as a State on December 28, 1846. Single judicial district abolished July 20, 1882.)

MARSHAL	<u>DATE</u>	VICE
Bailey, Gideon S.	March 3, 1847(S)	Himself as Marshal of Territory of Iowa
Shellady, Stephen B.	April 25, 1850(S)	
Summers, Laurel	April 19, 1853(R) March 14, 1854(S) March 24, 1858(S)	Shellady (Removed)
Hoxie, Herbert M.	March 22, 1861(S)	Summers (Removed)
Melendy, Peter	March 3, 1865(S)	Hoxie (Resigned)
Clark, George W.	March 11, 1867(S)	Melendy (Removed) Walker (Not Confirmed)
Melendy, Peter	March 10, 1871(S)	Clark (Term Expired)
Chapman, John W.	March 3, 1875(S) February 27, 1879(S)	Melendy (Term Expired)

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA (Created July 20, 1882)

MARSHAL	DATE	<u>VICE</u>
Chapman, John W.	July 20, 1882	Himself as Marshal of District of Iowa
Root, Richard	February 28, 1883(S)	Chapman (Term Expired)
Campbell, Edward, Jr.	May 16, 1885(R) January 27, 1886(S)	Root (Resigned)
Miller, David B.	November 21, 1889(R) February 6, 1890(S)	Campbell (Removed)
Bradley, Frank P.	February 28,1894(S)	Miller (Term Expired)
Christian, George M.	February 15, 1898(S) June 27, 1902(S)	Bradley (Term Expired)
Clark, Frank B.	March 7, 1907(R) December 10, 1907(C)	Christian (Term Expired)
Ness, Beamhardt J.	November 26, 1913(C.A.)	Clark (Deceased)
Reed, Nicholas F.	March 10, 1914(C) November 21, 1918(C)	Ness (C.A.)
Brewer, Guy S.	February 9, 1922(C)	Reed (Term Expired)
Hammond, Isaac Harrison	August 27, 1923(C.A.)	Brewer (Deceased)
Gault, Roy B.	January 14, 1924(C)	Hammond (C.A.)
Hird, Fred S.	February 4, 1928(C) January 29, 1932(C)	Gault (Term Expired)
Miller, George	March 6, 1936(C)	Hird (Term Expired)
Gillespie, James Joseph	May 17, 1941(C) October 2, 1945(C)	Miller (Term Expired)
McEmiry, Daniel N.	April 26, 1950(C)	Gillespie (Term Expired)
Walter, Roland A.	May 21, 1953(C) May 6, 1957(C)	McEmiry (Removed)
Bendlage, Charles B., Jr.	May 6, 1961(C) June 24, 1965(C)	Walter (Term Expired)
Grindle, Harold M.	May 6, 1969(C) August 3, 1973(C)	Bendlage (Separated)
Yeager, Dean J.	May 16, 1977(C.A.)	Grindle (Deceased)

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA (Continued)

VICE

Nehring, Richard W.

March 14, 1978(C)

DATE

Yeager (C.A.)

Stump, Warren

MARSHAL

December 9, 1981(C) June 9, 1986(C)

Nehring (Term Expired)

Walter, Terry

December 4, 1990(A.G.)

Stump (Term Expired)

Henry, Phylliss J.

February 11, 1994(C)

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA (Created July 20, 1882)

MARSHAL	<u>DATE</u>	VICE
Heberling, George C.	September 25, 1882(C)	Original Appointment
Perkins, George D.	January 29, 1883(S)	Heberling (Temporary Commission)
Desmond, William M.	July 17, 1885(R) June 23, 1886(S)	Perkins (Suspended)
Knott, Edward	September 23, 1889(R) March 6, 1890(S)	Desmond (Removed)
Desmond, William M.	February 19, 1894(S)	Knott (Resigned)
Knott, Edward	February 15, 1898(S) June 27, 1902(S) March 7, 1907(R) December 10, 1907(C)	Desmond (Term Expired)
Moore, Eugene R.	June 19, 1914(C) July 6, 1918(C)	Knott (Term Expired)
Davis, Fred	July 7, 1921(C)	Moore (Resigned)
Kloster, Charles	December 14, 1925(C)	Davis (Term Expired)
Preussner, Don A.	January 16, 1930(C)	Kloster (Term Expired)
Keefe, John B.	March 9, 1934(C)	Preussner (Term Expired)
Bierman, Frederick E.	September 28, 1940(C) September 27, 1944(C) February 2, 1949(C)	Keefe (Term Expired)
Crahan, Clement W.	May 21, 1953(C) May 24, 1957(C)	Bierman (Term Expired)
Meek, Covell H.	April 14, 1961(C) May 22, 1965(C) February 28, 1969(C.A.)	Crahan (Separated)
Howe, Melvin A.	July 14, 1969(C) October 4, 1973(C)	Meek (Resigned)
Roe, John A.	December 15, 1977(C)	Howe (Resigned)
Jonker, James P.	December 9, 1981(C) June 16, 1986(C)	Roe (Term Expired)
	, , ,	