INDIANA (19th State - December 11, 1816)

DISTRICT	DATE CREATED	STATUTORY CITATION
Territory of Indiana *	May 7, 1800*	2 Stat. 58-59*
District of Indiana	March 3, 1817	3 Stat. 390-391
Southern District of Indiana	April 21, 1928	45 Stat. 437
Northern District of Indiana	April 21, 1928	45 Stat. 437

^{*} Effective July 4, 1800. Authority to appoint Territorial Marshals by Act of February 27, 1813 (2 Stat. 806).

TERRITORY OF INDIANA

(Established as Territory on May 7, 1800, effective July 4, 1800, and remained Territory until Indiana admitted as State on December 11, 1816. Authority to appoint Marshals by Act of February 27, 1813.)

MARSHAL

DATE

VICE

Vawter, John

July 27, 1813(S)

Original Appointment

DISTRICT OF INDIANA

(District Court established March 3, 1817, although Indiana admitted as State on December 11, 1816. Single judicial district abolished April 21, 1928.)

<u>MARSHAL</u>	DATE	VICE
Vawter, John	March 6, 1817(S) March 2, 1821(S) March 7, 1825(S)	Himself as Marshal of Territory of Indiana
Marshall, William	March 9, 1829(S)	Vawter (Term Expired)
Taylor, Gamaliel	January 19, 1832(S) December 30, 1835(S)	Marshall (Resigned)
Bright, Jesse D.	January 7, 1840(S)	Taylor (Term Expired)
Hanna, Robert	July 15, 1841(S)	Bright (Removed)
Pepper, Abel C.	August 2, 1845(R) February 24, 1846(S)	Hanna (Term Expired)
Meredith, Solomon	April 25, 1850(S)	
Robinson, John L.	April 19, 1853(R) April 5, 1854(S) March 1, 1858(S)	Meredith (Removed)
English, Elisha G.	April 17, 1860(S)	Robinson (Deceased)
Rose, David G.	March 22, 1861(S)	English (Removed)
Spooner, Benjamin J.	January 15, 1866(S) January 24, 1870(S) February 20, 1874(S) February 18, 1878(S)	
Dudley, William W.	February 3, 1879(S)	Spooner (Resigned)
Foster, Robert S.	June 28, 1881(R) October 14, 1881(S)	Dudley (Resigned)
Hawkins, Edward	October 10, 1885(R) August 3, 1886(S)	Foster (Term Expired)
Dunlap, William L.	March 20, 1889(S)	Hawkins (Removed)
Hawkins, William H.	March 22, 1893(C)	Dunlap (Term Expired)
Kercheval, Samuel E.	March 19, 1897(C)	Hawkins (Term Expired)
Pettit, Henry C.	March 18, 1901(R) December 11, 1901(C) December 12, 1905(C)	Kercheval (Term Expired)

DISTRICT OF INDIANA (Continued)

MARSHAL	<u>DATE</u>	<u>VICE</u>
Schmidt, Edward H.	May 9, 1911(C)	Pettit (Term Expired)
Storen, Mark	July 14, 1914(C) September 28, 1918(C)	Schmidt (Removed)
Meredith, Linus P.	September 12, 1922(C)	Storen (Term Expired)
Meloy, Alf O.	December 20, 1926(C)	Meredith (Term Expired)

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA (Created April 21, 1928)

	- · · ·	·
<u>MARSHAL</u>	DATE	VICE
Meloy, Alf O.	April 21, 1928 February 23, 1931(C)	Himself as Marshal of District of Indiana
James, Charles W.	August 24, 1935(C)	Meloy (Term Expired)
Wichser, Julius J.	August 29, 1939(R) November 4, 1939(C.A.) February 9, 1940(C) June 5, 1944(C) April 26, 1948(C) June 11, 1952(C)	James (Term Expired)
McFadden, Robert C.	May 2, 1955(C) March 10, 1960 (C)	Wischer (Resigned)
Jarboe, Richard J.	October 17, 1961(R) February 9, 1962(C)	McFadden (Resigned)
O'Neal, Robert A.	March 1, 1962(C.A.) April 2, 1962 (C)	Jarboe (Resigned)
Whitehead, Wilmer R.	January 11, 1965(C.A.)	O'Neal (Resigned)
Stone, Dale C.	October 6, 1965(C)	Whitehead (C.A.)
Loos, Charles D.	March 10, 1969(C.A.) December 11, 1969(C) December 21, 1973(C)	Stone (Resigned)
Anderson, Frank J.	July 13, 1977(C)	Loos (Resigned)
Morgan, Ralph D.	October 7, 1981(C) April 14, 1986(C)	Anderson (Resigned)
Tingle, Gary	January 4, 1994(Acting)	Morgan (Resigned)

Anderson, Frank James March 18, 1994(C)

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA (Created April 21, 1928)

MARSHAL	<u>DATE</u>	<u>VICE</u>
Sheets, Lewis C.	April 25, 1928(C.A.)	Original Appointment
Rozelle, Frank E.	May 29, 1928(C)	Sheets (Resigned)
Sheets, Lewis C.	August 21, 1928(CA)	Rozelle(Resigned)
Smith, Charles A.	January 15, 1929(C)	Sheets (Resigned)
Sheets, Lewis C.	March 2, 1929(C.A.)	Smith (Resigned)
Hall, Emmett O.	April 29, 1929(C)	Sheets (C.A.)
Hosinski, Aloysius W.	May 27, 1933(C) June 29, 1937(C) July 3, 1941(C) February 8, 1946(C)	Hall (Term Expired)
Pajakowski, Eugene John	August 5, 1950(C)	Hosinski (Term Expired)
Amos, Roy M.	July 31, 1953(C) March 12, 1958(C)	Pajakowski (Resigned)
Pajakowski, Casimir J.	August 15, 1961(C) September 17, 1965(C)	Amos (Separated)
Traeger, James W.	November 25, 1969(C) November 28, 1973(C)	Pajakowski (Term Expired)
Novotny, Joseph N.	November 22, 1977(C)	Traeger (Resigned)
Perkins, J. Jerome	November 18, 1981(C) March 10, 1986(C)	Novotny (Term Expired)
Carrington, Michael D.	October 11, 1994(C)	Perkins (Term Expired)