ILLINOIS 21st State - December 3, 1818

DISTRICT	DATE CREATED	STATUTORY CITATION
Territory of Illinois*	February 3, 1809*	2 Stat. 514*
District of Illinois	March 3, 1819	3 Stat. 502-503
Northern District of Illinois	February 13, 1855	10 Stat. 606-607
Southern District of Illinois	February 13, 1855	10 Stat. 606-607
Eastern District of Illinois	March 3, 1905	33 Stat. 992, 996
Central District of Illinois	April, 1979	
Southern District of Illinois	April, 1979	

<sup>\*</sup> Effective March 1, 1809. Authority to appoint Territorial Marshals by Act of February 27, 1813 (2 Stat. 806)

#### **TERRITORY OF ILLINOIS**

(Established as Territory by Act of February 3, 1809, effective March 1, 1809, and remained Territory until Illinois admitted as State on December 3, 1818. Authority to appoint Marshals by Act of February 27, 1813.)

**MARSHAL** 

**DATE** 

**VICE** 

Touche, Philip

August 1, 1813(S)

**Original Appointment** 

### NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS (Created February 13, 1855)

MARSHAL	DATE	VICE
Wilton, Harry Illinois	February 13, 1855	Himself as Marshal of District of
Nye, Iram	July 7, 1856(S)	Wilton (Resigned)
Davidson, James W.	July 9, 1857(R) June 14, 1858(S)	
Pine, Charles U.	September 1, 1858(R) December 15, 1858(S)	Davidson( Removed)
Hoyne, Thomas	January 30, 1860(S)	Pine (Resigned) Breese (Declined)
Jones, Joseph Russell	March 14, 1861(S) January 15, 1866(S)	Hoyne (Resigned)
Campbell, Benjamin H.	April 5, 1869(S) March 10, 1873(S)	Jones (Resigned)
Hildrup, Jesse S.	March 16, 1877(S)	Campbell (Term Expired)
Jones, Alfred M.	May 4, 1881(S)	Hildrup (Term Expired)
Marsh, Frederick H.	June 9, 1885(R) January 27, 1886(S)	Jones (Term Expired)
Hitchcock, Frank	November 25, 1889(R) February 4, 1890(S)	Marsh (Removed)
Arnold, John W.	March 5, 1894(S)	Hitchcock (Term Expired)
Ames, John C.	December 18,1897(S) December 16, 1901(S)	Arnold (Removed)
Hoy, Lyman T.	June 28, 1906(C) August 1, 1911(C)	Ames (Term Expired)
Bradley, John J.	April 28, 1914(C) April 6, 1918(C)	Hoy (Resigned)
Levy, Robert R.	November 23, 1921(C)	Bradley (Resigned)
Anderson, Palmer E.	February 16, 1925(C)	Levy (Resigned)
Laubenheimer, Henry C.W.	May 2, 1928(C.A.) May 22, 1928(C) June 16, 1932(C)	Anderson (Deceased)

## NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS (Continued)

MARSHAL	<u>DATE</u>	<u>VICE</u>
McDonnell, William H.	June 18, 1934(C) February 9, 1939(C) May 7, 1943(C)	Laubenheimer (Resigned)
Tobin, Joseph E.	April 30, 1946(C.A.)	McDonnell (Resigned)
O'Donovan, Thomas P.	July 15, 1946(C) June 29, 1950(C)	Tobin (C.A.)
Kipp, William W., Sr.	July 17, 1953(C) July 10, 1957(C)	O'Donovan (Deceased)
Tierney, Joseph N.	April 14, 1961(C) May 22, 1965(C)	Kipp (Resigned)
Meiszner, John C.	December 26, 1968(C.A.) June 20, 1969(C)	Tierney (Resigned)
Twomey, John J.	November 20, 1973(C)	Meiszner (Resigned)
Roddy, Frank J.	August 12, 1976(C.A.)	Twomey (Resigned)
Johnson, Harvey N., Jr.	October 7, 1977(C)	Roddy (C.A.)
Adams, John J.	June 21, 1978(C.A.)	
Wilkes, Peter J.	June 19, 1979(C)	Adams (C.A.)
Adams, John J.	September 12, 1986(C.A.)	Wilkes (Resigned)
Lutes, Marvin	October 18, 1991(A.G.)	Adams (Retired)
Tantillo, James M.	January 9, 1994(AG)	Lutes (Reassigned)
DiLeonardi, Joseph G.	June 9, 1994(C)	•

# SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS (Created February 13, 1855)

•	·
DATE	<u>VICE</u>
March 3, 1855(S)	Original Appointment
June 14, 1858(S)	Dickson (Removed)
March 30, 1861(R) July 22, 1861(S) January 15, 1866(S)	Dougherty (Removed)
July 23, 1866(S)	Phillips (Removed)
April 6, 1870(S)	Logan (No Reason Given)
December 11, 1871(S) January 12, 1876(S)	Routt (Resigned)
January 13, 1880(S)	Roe (Term Expired)
November 16, 1883(R) December 18, 1883(S)	Wheeler (Resigned)
June 19, 1885(R) August 2, 1886(S)	Tanner (Suspended)
July 1, 1889(R) January 27, 1890(S)	Weber (Resigned)
July 1, 1893(R) August 22, 1893(S)	Hitch (Resigned)
June 25, 1897(S) June 13, 1901(R) December 16, 1901(S)	Brinton (Resigned)
May 12, 1905(R) District)	Hitch (Transferred to Eastern
May 6, 1910(C)	Townsend (Term Expired)
June 8, 1914(C) July 1, 1918(C)	Behrens (Term Expired)
June 13, 1922(C)	Dallman (Resigned)
May 21, 1927(R) February 7, 1928(C)	McClure (Term Expired)
June 12, 1933(C) August 14, 1937(C)	Cushing (Term Expired)
	March 3, 1855(S)  June 14, 1858(S)  March 30, 1861(R)  July 22, 1861(S)  January 15, 1866(S)  July 23, 1866(S)  April 6, 1870(S)  December 11, 1871(S)  January 12, 1876(S)  January 13, 1880(S)  November 16, 1883(R)  December 18, 1883(S)  June 19, 1885(R)  August 2, 1886(S)  July 1, 1889(R)  January 27, 1890(S)  July 1, 1893(R)  August 22, 1893(S)  June 25, 1897(S)  June 13, 1901(R)  December 16, 1901(S)  May 12, 1905(R)  District)  May 6, 1910(C)  June 8, 1914(C)  July 1, 1918(C)  June 13, 1922(C)  May 21, 1927(R)  February 7, 1928(C)  June 12, 1933(C)

## SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS (Continued)

<u>MARSHAL</u>	DATE	<u>VICE</u>
Grant, Robert	December 16, 1941(C) October 11, 1945(C) April 13, 1950(C)	Ruppel (Term Expired)
Schultz, Elmer W.	June 30, 1952(C.A.)	Grant (Removed)
Littell, William J.	April 14, 1953(C) May 6, 1957(C)	Schultz (C.A.)
Scheller, Gilbert B.	August 28, 1959(C.A.) February 29, 1960(C)	Littell (Resigned)
Moos, James J.	August 30, 1961(C) March 7,1966(C)	Scheller (Separated)
Davis, Louis	February 10, 1969(C.A.)	Moos (Resigned)
Slayback, Carl H.	February 5, 1970(C.A.) March 13, 1970(C) May 6, 1974(C)	Davis (Resigned)
Marshall, Harry H.	June 27, 1977(C.A.) October 25, 1977(C)	Slayback (Resigned)

## EASTERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS (Created March 3, 1905)

MARSHAL	DATE	<u>VICE</u>
Hitch, Charles P.	May 29, 1905(R) December 19, 1905(C) February 22, 1910(C)	Original Appointment
Stout, Cooper	May 14, 1914(C) October 24, 1918(C)	Hitch (Term Expired)
White, James A.	November 22, 1921(C)	Stout (Resigned)
Clark, Arthur R.	March 1, 1927(C)	White (Term Exired)
Burke, Arthur R.	March 4, 1931(C)	Clark (Term Expired)
Ryan, William	May 25, 1934(C) June 8, 1938(C)	Burke (Resigned)
Senger, Frank B.	August 31, 1942(C.A.)	Ryan (Deceased)
Werner, Carl J.	February 18, 1943(C) July 30, 1947(C) August 29, 1951(C)	Senger (C.A.)
Woods, Vernon	March 6, 1954(C) May 8, 1958(C)	Werner (Resigned)
George, Harry C.	June 28, 1961(C) July 16, 1965(C)	Woods (Separated)
Corcoran, Willard	September 1, 1969(C.A.)	George (Retired)
Hosch, Harlan R.	October 31, 1969(C)	Corcoran(Resigned)
Burks, Charles D.	December 30, 1974(C)	Hosch( Resigned)
Wilson, Arthur	August 4, 1975(C.A.) November 20, 1975(C)	
Bahl, Ronald J.	June 3, 1977(C.A.)	Wilson (Resigned)
Hinds, Albert S.	July 13, 1977(C)	Bahl (C.A.)

#### **CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS**

**VICE** 

(Created in April 1979, formerly Southern District of Illinois.)

**MARSHAL DATE** 

Marshall, Harry H. April, 1979 Himself as Marshal of Southern District

February 27, 1982(C.A.) April 22, 1982(C) September 15, 1986(C) Marshall (Died February 19, 1982 in Office) Fyke, James Lowell

October 11, 1994(C) Moore, Robert

#### SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

(Created in April 1979, formerly Eastern District of Ilinois.)

**MARSHAL** 

**DATE** 

**VICE** 

Hinds, Albert S.

April, 1979

Himself as Marshal of

Eastern District

Simpson, Robert L.

June, 11, 1981 (C.A.)

Hinds (Resigned)

Nettles, William J.

March 9, 1982(C)

Simpson (C.A.)

Brookshier, Donald R.

August 14, 1984(C.A.) October 28, 1985(C)

Nettles (Resigned)

May 5, 1990 (C)

Delaney, Terrence E.

February 11, 1994(C)