HAWAII 50th State - August 21, 1959

DISTRICT	DATE CREATED	STATUTORY CITATION
Territory of Hawaii*	April 30, 1900**	31 Stat. 141, 156*
District of Hawaii**	March 18, 1959**	73 Stat. 4, 9**

* Effective June 14, 1900. Six-year terms for Marshals provided by Act of March 3, 1909. (35 Stat. 838)

** Effective upon admission of Hawaii as a State on August 21, 1959, with provision that the term of office for Marshals be reduced from six years to four years.

TERRITORY OF HAWAII

(Established by Act of April 30, 1900, effective June 14, 1900. Six-year terms for Marshals provided by Act of March 3, 1909. Hawaii remained Territory until its admission as a State on August 21, 1959.)

MARSHAL	DATE	VICE
Ray, Daniel A.	June 4, 1900(C)	Original Appointment
Hendry, Eugene R.	October 9, 1901(R) January 23, 1902(C)	Ray (Deceased)
Holt, Harry H.	April 24, 1912(C.A.)	Hendry (Deceased)
Smiddy, Jerome J.	September 11, 1914(C)	Holt(C.A.)
Cox, Oscar P.	August 16, 1921(C) March 5, 1928(C)	Smiddy (Term Expired)
Heine, Otto F.	June 18, 1934(C) June 26, 1940(C)	Cox (Resigned)
Clark, Thomas R.	May 20, 1954(C)	Heine (Term Expired)

.

DISTRICT OF HAWAII

(District Court established by Act of March 18, 1959, effective when Hawaii admitted as State on August 21, 1959, with provision that Marshals serve four-year terms.)

. **.**

MARSHAL	DATE	VICE
Clark, Thomas R.	August 21, 1959	Himself as Marshal of Hawaii Territory
Petrie, Wesley	May 16, 1961(C) June 24,1965(C)	Clark (Term Expired)
Kaulukukui, Thomas K.	May 13, 1969(C) August 3, 1973(C)	Petrie (Separated)
Keliikoa, Edward N.	October 7, 1977(C)	Kaulukukui (Resigned)
Propotnick, James L.	September 1, 1980(C.A.)	Keliikoa (Resigned)
Evans, Faith P.	August 12, 1982(C)	Propotnick
Propotnick, James L.	February 1, 1991(A.G.)	Evans (Term Expired)
Kent, Annette	October 9, 1992(C)	