ARIZONA 48th State - February 14, 1912

DISTRICT	DATE CREATED	STATUTORY CITATION
-----------------	--------------	--------------------

Territory of Arizona February 24, 1863 12 Stat. 664, 665

District of Arizona* June 20, 1910* 36 Stat. 557, 576*

^{*} Effective upon admission of Arizona as a State on February 14, 1912.

TERRITORY OF ARIZONA

(Established as territory on February 24, 1863, and remained territory until February 14, 1912.)

MARSHAL	DATE	VICE
Duffield, Milton B.	March 10, 1863(S)	Original
Phelps, Edward	June 18, 1866(S) April 21, 1870(S)	Duffield (Removed)
Dickason, Isaac Q.	April 15, 1871(S)	Phelps (killed by robbers while absconding with federal monies in Mexico)
Tyng, George	January 30, 1874(S)	Dickason (no reason given)
Goodwin, Francis H.	December 23, 1874(S)	Tyng (Resigned)
Standifer, W.W.	August 15, 1876(S)	
Dake, Crowley P.	June 12, 1878(S)	Standifer(Removed)
Tidball, Zan L.	July 18, 1882	Dake (Term Expired)
Meade, William K.	July 8, 1885(R) August 2, 1886(S)	Tidball (Suspended)
Paul, Robert H.	March 4, 1890(S)	Meade (Removed)
Meade, William K.	May 8, 1893(R) August 29, 1893(S)	Paul (Removed)
Griffith, William M.	June 15, 1897(S)	Meade (Removed)
McCord, Myron H.	June 6, 1901(R) March 18, 1902(S)	Griffith (Term Expired) (Daniels' commission recalled)
Daniels, Benjamin F.	June 14, 1905(R) April 25, 1906(C)	McCord (Resigned)
Overlook, Charles A.	August 7, 1909(R) January 11, 1910(C)	Daniels (Resigned)

DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

(Admitted as State with one Judicial District on February 14, 1912)*

MARSHAL	DATE	VICE
Overlock, Charles	March 4, 1912(C.A.) May 1, 1912(C)	Himself as Marshal of the Territory of Arizona
Dillon, Joseph P.	January 10, 1914(C.A.) January 15, 1914(C) January 15, 1918(C)	Overlock (Removed)
Sparks, Thomas J.	January 30, 1922(C)	Dillon (Term Expired)
Mauk, George A.	July 18, 1923(R) January 19, 1924(C) February 20, 1928(C) February 12, 1932(C)	Sparks (Removed)
McKinney, Benjamin J.	July 1, 1935(C) July 19, 1939(C) September 21, 1944(C) July 1, 1949(C) January 1, 1954(C.A.)	Mauk (Resigned)
Meyer, Archie M.	April 2, 1954(C) March 12, 1958(C)	McKinney (Resigned)
Mosher, Roland S.	June 11, 1962(C) June 9, 1966(C)	Meyer (Term Expired)
Madrid, J. Pat	June 20, 1969(C) October 4, 1973(C)	Mosher (Retired)
Easley, Howard T.	July 19, 1976(C.A.)	Madrid (Resigned)
Limbs, Lee A., Jr.	July 8, 1977(C)	Easley (Court Appointed)
Roberts, John W.	December 9, 1981(C) July 24, 1986(C)	Limbs (Term Expired)
Tucker, Donald	February 28, 1990(C)	Roberts (Retired)
Madrid, Alfred	March 11, 1994(C)	Tucker (Resigned)

^{*} District Court created by Act of June 20, 1910, effective upon admission of Arizona as a State.