ALASKA 49th State - January 3, 1959

| DATE CREATED | STATUTORY CITATION |
|------------------|---|
| May 17, 1884 | 23 Stat.24 |
| June 6, 1900 | 31 Stat. 321, 324 |
| June 6, 1990 | 31 Stat. 321, 324 |
| June 6, 1900 | 31 Stat. 321, 324 |
| March 3, 1909 | 35 Stat. 838, 839 |
| August 24, 1912* | 37 Stat. 512* |
| August 24, 1912* | 37 Stat. 512* |
| August 24, 1912* | 37 Stat. 512* |
| August 24, 1912* | 37 Stat. 512* |
| July 7, 1958** | 72 Stat. 339, 350** |
| | May 17, 1884 June 6, 1900 June 6, 1990 June 6, 1900 March 3, 1909 August 24, 1912* August 24, 1912* August 24, 1912* August 24, 1912* |

^{*} Effective November 5, 1912

^{**} Effective February 20, 1960 by Presidential Executive Order 10867

DISTRICT OF ALASKA (District Court created May 17, 1884)

| MARSHAL | DATE | VICE |
|--------------------|--|-----------------------|
| Hillyer, M.C. | July 5, 1884(C) | Original Appointment |
| Atkins, Barton | July 21, 1885(R) July 26, 1886(C) | Hillyer (Suspended) |
| Porter, Orville T. | June 21, 1889(R) February 11, 1890(C) | Atkins (Resigned) |
| Williams, Louis L. | February 20, 1894(C) | Porter (Term Expired) |
| Shoup, James M. | June 26, 1897(C) | Williams (Removed) |

(Created June 6, 1900. Became Territory of Alaska, Division #1 on August 24, 1912.)

| • | • | • |
|-----------------------|---|---|
| MARSHAL | DATE | VICE |
| Shoup, James M. | June 6, 1900(C) April 27, 1904(C) March 30, 1908(C) | Himself, as Marshal of District of Alaska |
| Sutherland, Daniel A. | April 28, 1909(C) | Shoup(Resigned) |
| Faulkner, Herbert L. | April 28, 1910(C.A.) May 9, 1911(C) | Sutherland (Removed) |
| Bishop, Harry A. | May 13, 1914(C.A.) May 28, 1914(C) | Faulkner (Removed) |
| Tanner, J.M. | April 14, 1917(C.A.) June 2, 1917(C) | Bishop (Resigned) |
| Beaumont, George D. | August 16, 1921(C) | Tanner (Term Expired) |
| White, Albert | May 19, 1926(C) February 25, 1931(C) | Beaumont (Term Expired) |
| Mahoney, William T. | December 9, 1933(R) April 5, 1934(C) April 22, 1938(C) July 7, 1942(C) July 15, 1946(C) | White (Resigned) |
| Hellan, Walter G. | August 31, 1950(C.A.) | Mahoney (Deceased) |
| Thompson, Sidney J. | October 30, 1951(R) April 8, 1952(C) | Hellan (Court Appointed) |
| Byington, Glenn L. | January 29, 1953 (C.A.) | Thompson (Resigned) |
| Wilder, Claire A. | October 27, 1953(R) March 9, 1954(C) May 8, 1958(C) | Byington (Court Appointed) |
| | | |

(Created June 6, 1900. Became Territory of Alaska Division #2, on August 24, 1912.)

| MARSHAL | DATE | <u>VICE</u> |
|----------------------|--|------------------------|
| Vawter, Cornelius L. | June 6, 1900(C) | Original Appointment |
| Richards, Frank H. | February 13, 1901 | Vawter (Resigned) |
| Dunn, John H. | November 23, 1904(C.A.) | Richards (Removed) |
| Powell, Thomas Cader | January 24, 1905(C) June 16, 1909(C) | Dunn (Court Appointee) |
| Jordan, Emmet R. | June 5, 1913(C) October 24, 1918(C) | Powell (Term Expired) |
| Griffith, Morris W. | August 19, 1921(C) | Jordan (Resigned) |
| Jones, Charles D. | April 21, 1925(C.A.) June 30, 1926(C) April 28, 1932(C) | Griffith (Deceased) |
| Gaffney, Thomas J. | August 24, 1933(R) January 26, 1934(C) | Jones (Resigned) |
| Mozee, Benjamin B. | December 9, 1937(C.A.) February 14, 1938(C) March 4, 1942(C) May 13, 1946(C) July 5, 1950(C) | Gaffney (Deceased) |
| Oliver, Robert W. | May 12, 1955(C) | Mozee (Term Expired) |

(Created June 6, 1900. Became Territory of Alaska Division #3 on August 24, 1912)

| MARSHAL | DATE | <u>VICE</u> |
|------------------------|---|--------------------------------|
| Perry, George G. | June 6, 1900(C) February 23, 1905(C) | Original Appointment |
| Love, Henry K. | September 12, 1908(R) January 13, 1909(C) | Perry (Removed) |
| Sullivan, Harvey P. | April 8, 1909(C) | Love(Transferred to Alaska #4) |
| Brenneman, Franklyn R. | September 9, 1913(C) January 7, 1918(C) | Sullivan (Term Expired) |
| Sullivan, Harvey P. | February 21, 1922(C) February 16, 1926(C) | Brenneman (Term Expired) |
| Todd, Chester J. | October 19, 1933(R) February 21, 1934(C) | Sullivan (Term Expired) |
| Patterson, James H. | February 23, 1939(C) October 2, 1943(C) | Todd (Term Expired) |
| Herring, Paul C. | May 5, 1949(C) | Patterson (Term Expired) |
| Metcalf, Irwin L. | June 25, 1951(C.A.) | Herring (Deceased) |
| Huntley, Walter E. | September 26, 1951(C) | Metcalf (Court Appointed) |
| Williamson, Fred S. | October 27, 1953(R) March 9, 1954(C) May 8, 1958(C) | Huntley (Resigned) |

(Created March 3, 1909. Became Territory of Alaska, Division #4 on August 24, 1912.)

| • | • | <u> </u> |
|------------------------|---|---|
| MARSHAL | DATE | VICE |
| Love, Henry K. | March 3, 1909 | Himself as Marshal of Alaska #3 (Transferred) |
| Erwin, Lewis T. | May 20, 1913(C) July 19, 1917(C) | Love (Term Expired) |
| Stevens, Gilbert B. | September 27, 1921(C) | Erwin (Term Expired) |
| Smith, Lynn | February 16, 1926(C) January 9, 1931(C) | Stevens (Term Expired) |
| Carlson, M.O. | March 22, 1933(C.A.) | Smith (Deceased) |
| McDonald, Joseph A. | June 13, 1933(C) March 12, 1938(C) July 7, 1942(C) | Carlson (Court Appointed) |
| Nichols, Stanley J. | July 15, 1946(C) | McDonald (Term Expired) |
| McRoberts, Theodore R. | December 23, 1950(C.A.) | Nichols (Resigned) |
| Barr, Frank | April 25, 1951(C) | McRoberts (Court Appointed) |
| McRoberts, Theodore R. | July 31, 1951(C.A.) | Barr (Resigned) |
| Chapados, Francis X. | October 17, 1951(C) | McRoberts (Court Appointed) |
| McRoberts, Theodore R. | January 31, 1953 (C.A.) | Chapados (Resigned) |
| Dorsch, Albert F., Jr. | October 27, 1953(R) March 9, 1954(C) May 8, 1958(C) | McRoberts (Court Appointed) |

DISTRICT OF ALASKA

(Alaska admitted as State on January 3, 1959 and four divisions abolished on February 20, 1960. There is now a single judicial District.)

| MARSHAL | DATE | VICE |
|----------------------|--|---------------------------------|
| Williamson, Fred S. | February 19, 1960 (Transferred) June 14, 1960(C) | Himself as Marshal of Alaska #3 |
| Bayer, George A. | April 14, 1961(C) May 22, 1965(C) | Williamson (Separated) |
| Miller, Norman D. | August 13,1969(C.A.) | Bayer (Retired) |
| Olson, Robert D.,Sr. | November 5, 1969(C) March 1, 1974(C) | Miller (Court Appointed) |
| Opel, William H. | November 5, 1977(C.A.) May 16, 1985(C) | Olson (Resigned) |
| McKay, John | October 1, 1986(C.A.) December 9, 1987(C) | Opel (Retired) |
| Mobbs, Robert | May 1, 1993(AG) | McKay (Retired) |
| Murphy, John R. | October 11, 1994(C) | Mobbs (Interim Appointment) |