USMS News Banner

May 03, 2007 Nina Kunkel or Jill Sizelove, (202) 842-4420
Washington, DC – The United States Marshal for the Northern District of Ohio has been selected as a TOP COPS Award® winner by the National Association of Police Organizations (NAPO), sponsor of the Fourteenth Annual TOP COPS Awards®.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott has created a new concept that is sweeping the nation and is making our streets safer from fugitives on the run. The program, Fugitive Safe Surrender, has proven to reduce the risk to the law enforcement officers who pursue fugitives, to the neighborhoods in which they hide, and to the fugitives themselves. Marshal Elliott’s creation is unique and highly successful. To date, in just three cities, nearly 3000 fugitives have peacefully and voluntarily surrendered. His high-quality work and enormous effort go above and beyond the call of duty.

Pete Elliott will be honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, May 12, 2007, at 7:00 p.m., at the Warner Theatre.

“For each fugitive that peacefully and voluntarily surrenders, law enforcement and residents face one less dangerous confrontation on the streets,” said Elliott. “Desperate people commit desperate acts, sometimes with tragic consequences. I saw too many of my brothers and sisters in law enforcement and innocent bystanders killed by the desperate actions of those wanted and on the run. I started Fugitive Safe Surrender to take the desperateness out of the situation, to make it safer for our law enforcement officers, our residents and neighborhoods, and to build a new trust between law enforcement and the community.”

The Master of Ceremony for the 2007 TOP COPS Awards® is John Walsh; host of Fox’s America’s Most Wanted. Barring any schedule changes we expect the following celebrity award presenters: Richard Belzer from NBC’s Law & Order: SVU and Milena Govich from Law & Order; Football’s Hall-of-Famer Jim Brown; Correspondent Beth Karas from Court TV; Liza Lapira from CBS’s NCIS; Jack McGee of FX’s Rescue Me; Jeremy Ratchford of CBS’s Cold Case; Rex Linn from CBS’s CSI: Miami; and actor Chris Bauer.

The TOP COPS Awards® pay tribute to law enforcement officers from across the country for outstanding service to their communities during the preceding year. The TOP COPS® were nominated by fellow officers and selected from hundreds of nominations by an independent Awards Committee. Officers from the top ten cases have been chosen as the 2007 NAPO TOP COPS®. This year, there are 20 TOP COPS® representing the top ten cases.

NAPO, a national law enforcement group, represents 238,000 sworn law enforcement officers from 2,000 police associations and units across the country. Based in Washington, D.C., NAPO fights for the rights of law enforcement officers through federal legislation, legal advocacy, and education.

NOTE TO MEDIA: TOP COPS® Award winners will be available for print and broadcast interviews on Saturday, May 12, at the Warner Theatre prior to the ceremony. To schedule an interview or to obtain tickets, please contact Nina Kunkel or Jill Sizelove at (202) 842-4420.