News Banner

For Immediate Release

May 17, 2018 Brian O’Neill, Supervisory Deputy U.S. Marshal
Public Information Officer (202) 345-8222
District of Connecticut Violent Fugitive Task Force;
U.S. Marshals Office of Public Affairs (703) 740-1699
Joint Sex Offender Operation Nabs 16
Brings total to over 100 individuals arrested since 2011
New Haven, CT - This morning, the United States Marshals Service Violent Fugitive Task Force and the New Haven Police Department conducted a joint operation to locate and apprehend non-compliant sex offenders in the New Haven area. The individuals had arrest warrants from the New Haven Police Department for Failure to Register as Sex Offender, Failure to Verify Addresses as a Sex Offender, Sexual Assault, and Violation of Probation. The operation resulted in the arrest of a total of 16 individuals; 11 individuals were arrested today, 4 individuals were in custody at the time of the operation and were brought to court today and 1 individual was arrested prior to today’s operation.

All individuals were taken to New Haven Superior Court to be presented on the charges. The operation included members of the U.S. Marshals Service Violent Fugitive Task Force, New Haven Police Department, Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Connecticut State Probation, Connecticut State Parole and Connecticut State Police. It is the seventh such operation the U.S. Marshals Service and New Haven Police Department have conducted since 2011 resulting in the arrest of over 100 individuals here in the New Haven area.

This operation was the culmination of outstanding work by the U.S. Marshals Service’s Sex Offender Investigative Unit and Detective Leonardo Soto from the New Haven Police Department.

In 2006 with the passage of the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (Adam Walsh Act) the United States Marshals Service was given primary responsibility to locate and arrest non-registered or non-compliant sex offenders throughout the United States. The U.S. Marshals Service works with local and state agencies to identify these individuals and apprehend them. The U.S. Marshals Service also works with local United States Attorney Office to identify select non-compliant sex offenders for possible Federal prosecution for failure to register.

The following individuals were arrested:
Darryl ALLEN, 52 Failure to Register
Michael AZZARO, 30 Failure to Register
Travis BROWN, 26 Failure to Register
Librado CALIZ, 83 Failure to Register
Allen HENNAH, 59 Failure to Register
Frederick HINES, 44 Failure to Register
Kerim KILINC, 21 Promoting Obscene Act
Howard MACARZ, 60 Failure to Register
Isaiah PECK, 31 Failure to Register
Anthony ROSS, 25 Violation of Probation
Tyrone SPEARS, 42 Failure to Register
Billy STONE, 34 Violation of Probation
Antwain VEGA, 30 Failure to Register
David WATERS, 61 Failure to Register
Anthony WESLEY, 55 Failure to Register
David ZESNER, 53 Failure to Register

The Violent Fugitive Task Force is a team of law enforcement officers led by U.S. Marshals from the District of Connecticut. The task force’s objective is to seek out and arrest violent fugitives and sexual predators. Membership agencies include; Hartford, New Haven, Hamden, West Haven, Bridgeport, Norwalk, and Waterbury Police Departments as well as CT Parole.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s First Federal Law Enforcement Agency