News Banner

For Immediate Release

September 17, 2014 Drew Deserto, Assistant Chief
Northern District of Ohio (216) 522-3499
U.S. Marshals Task Force Finds Akron Homicide Fugitive Hiding in Abandon House in Cleveland

NOVFTF LogoCleveland, OH – Today, at approximately 10:30 A.m., the U.S. Marshal’s Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF), located and arrested Devanae Griffin, age 19. Griffin was wanted by the Akron Police Department for the aggravated murder of Darryl Trammell, age 39, which occurred August 18, 2014 in Akron. It is alleged that Griffin and two other males shot and killed the victim during a robbery of the victim’s residence. The two other males were arrested shortly after the crime. Griffin had been evading capture and fled the Akron area.

The fugitive investigation was referred to the NOVFTF Akron Division. Investigators on the Akron Division of the NOVFTF determined that the suspect was hiding in the Cleveland area and sent all information to the Cleveland Division to investigate. Early this morning, the Cleveland Division of the NOVFTF located and arrested Griffin at an abandoned residence on the 3600 block of E. 146th St. in Cleveland. Griffin was found hiding in a closet in the residence and was arrested without further incident. Griffin was transported to Akron Police after the arrest.

Assistant Chief Deputy U.S. Marshal Drew Deserto stated, “This was a great example of our task force teams working together to bring another dangerous fugitive to justice. There is no safe haven for fugitives to hide in Northern Ohio.”

Anyone with information concerning any wanted fugitive can contact the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED (1-866-492-6833). You may also anonymously text in a tip by texting the keyword "WANTED" and your tip to TIP411 (847411), or you can send a web tip at the following webpage Reward money is available and tipsters may remain anonymous.

The NOVFTF Cleveland Division is composed of the following federal, state and local agencies: Cleveland Police Department, Cuyahoga County Sheriff’s Office, Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority Police Department, Euclid Police Department, Lakewood Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Social Security Administration - Office of Inspector General, Solon Police Department and the United States Marshals Service.

The NOVFTF Akron Division is composed of the following federal, state and local agencies: Akron Police Department, Barberton Police Department, Bath Township Police Department, Boston Heights Village Police Department, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms, Copley Township Police Department, Cuyahoga Falls Police Department, Doylestown Police Department, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Kent Police Department, Lodi Police Department, Medina County Prosecutor’s Office, Medina County Sheriff’s Office, New Franklin Police Department, Northfield Village Police Department, Norton Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Portage County Prosecutor’s Office, Portage County Sheriff’s Office, Ravenna Police Department, Reminderville Police Department, Stow Police Department, Summit County Sheriff’s Office, Tallmadge Police Department, Twinsburg Police Department, United States Marshals Service, United States Secret Service, University of Akron Police Department, Wadsworth Police Department and the Windham Police Department.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s Oldest Federal Law Enforcement Agency