News Banner

For Immediate Release

April 04, 2014 Dan DeVille, Deputy U.S. Marshal
Northern District of Ohio (330) 746-0394
U.S. Marshals Task Force Tracks Shooting Suspect to Georgia

NOVFTF LogoYoungstown, OH – This morning, at approximately 10:30 a.m., members of the U.S. Marshals Southeast Regional Fugitive Task Force arrested Dashonti Baker, age 21, at a home in Stone Mountain, Georgia. Baker was indicted yesterday by the Mahoning County Grand Jury and charged with attempted murder and two counts of felonious assault. Baker allegedly shot Jacquez Brown in the head on March 15, 2014 in a parking lot at the corner of South Ave. and Dewey in Youngstown.

The Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) Youngstown Division initiated a fugitive investigation after Youngstown Police had obtained a warrant on March 25th charging Baker with attempted murder. The NOVFTF received information regarding Baker after he was profiled on several area news stations. The tips pointed to a suburb of Atlanta, Ga., where NOVFTF officers were able to identify a relative of Baker and her address. The address was relayed to U.S. Marshals in Atlanta who arrested Baker this morning without incident.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott stated, “The safe arrest of this fugitive was a direct result of the cooperation between all agencies involved. When we work together, we can accomplish great things and this capture is a fine example of that.”

Anyone with information regarding the whereabouts of a known fugitive is encouraged to contact the U.S. Marshals Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED or Text keyword WANTED and tip to TIP411 (847411) Tipsters can remain anonymous and reward money is available.

The Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force – Youngstown Division is composed of the following federal, state and local agencies: U.S. Marshals Service, Youngstown Police Department, Mahoning County Sheriff’s Office, Girard Police Department, Boardman Police Department, Columbiana County Sheriff’s Office, Ohio State Patrol, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Warren Police Department, East Liverpool Police Department, Goshen Township Police Department, Hubbard Township Police Department, Leetonia Police Department, Lordstown Police Department, McDonald Police Department, New Waterford Police Department, Niles Police Department, Salem Police Department, Springfield Township Police Department, Trumbull County Probation and the Washingtonville Police Department.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s Oldest Federal Law Enforcement Agency