News Banner

For Immediate Release

September 05, 2013 Deputy U.S. Marshal Chris Hodge (419) 259-6286
U.S. Marshals Task Force Arrests 4 Sex Offenders in Single Day

NOVFTF LogoToledo, OH – Yesterday, members of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF), Toledo Division arrested four sex offenders, including Keith Prater and Raymond Fenton, who are classified as sexual predators. The sexual predator classification is the most severe and offenders are required to register as a Sex Offender every 90 days for the rest of their lives.

Prater, 25, of Toledo, was arrested on a federal warrant on charges of Failure to Register as a Sex Offender and Traveling and Residing Interstate. He is currently in the Lucas County Jail awaiting trial.

Fenton, 54, who had been placed in the Toledo Blade’s Most Wanted page, was determined to be living in Brandon, Florida and U.S. Marshals in Florida arrested him on charges out of Wood County for Failure to Register as a Sex Offender.

Also arrested yesterday was Scott Lemaitre, 34, of Fremont, who had recently cut off his ankle monitor and fled the area. He was arrested in Green Springs, Ohio and booked in the Sandusky County Jail on a Sex Offender Violation Charge.

Jeffrey Bell, 37, of Toledo, was arrested in Toledo for Failure to Register his change of address with the county. Bell was booked into the Lucas County Jail by Toledo SWAT members.

“These four arrests demonstrate the commitment the U.S. Marshal’s Service has to tracking down non-compliant sex offenders, “said Pete Elliott, the U.S. Marshal for the Northern District of Ohio. “Our dedicated officers work tirelessly to enforce the Adam Walsh Act, which is intended to make the community a safer place for everyone.”

The Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act (AWA), which was passed in July 2006, names the U.S. Marshals Service as the primary federal agency to assist state and local law enforcement agencies with tracking and arresting non-compliant sex offenders nationwide. The Adam Walsh Act also provides a statute for Deputy U.S. Marshals to prosecute sex offenders federally for failing to register as a sex offender. The Act is named after Adam Walsh, who was abducted and murdered in Florida in 1981.

Anyone with information regarding the whereabouts of a known fugitive is encouraged to contact the U.S. Marshals Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at: 1-866-4-WANTED or text keyword WANTED and the tip to TIP411 (847411). Tipsters may remain anonymous and a cash reward may be available. The Task Force’s “Dangerous Dozen” fugitives can be viewed at, which is updated monthly.

The NOVFTF Toledo Division consists of the following federal, state and local agencies: Lucas County Sheriff’s Office, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Toledo Police Department, United States Marshals Service, Fremont Police Department , Holland Police Department , Ottawa Hills Police Department , Perrysburg Township Police Department and Wood County Sheriff’s Office.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s Oldest Federal Law Enforcement Agency