News Banner

For Immediate Release

August 22, 2013 SDUSM Hector Gomez, Western District of Texas (512) 916-5380
East Texas Robbery Suspect Arrested
Failed to Appear for Robbery and Weapons Charge

LSFTF LogoAustin, TX – Ray Hawkins, Jr., 29 of Jacksonville, Texas was arrested by the Lone Star Fugitive Task Force this afternoon in South Austin without incident. Hawkins was sought by Cherokee County authorities for his alleged involvement in a series of armed robberies of local convenience stores in Jacksonville where firearms were used in the commission of these robberies. Others involved in this case have been convicted and sentenced.

Hawkins was due to appear before a Cherokee County District Court on August 8th to enter a plea on the robbery cases. Hawkins did not appear as ordered and a Failure to Appear warrant was subsequently issued. The US Marshals led Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force conducted a series of interviews and determined that Hawkins had fled to Austin shortly after his scheduled hearing date.

The investigation transitioned to the Austin based task force, and officers initiated surveillance at several locations purported to have ties with Hawkins. Early yesterday, task force officers established surveillance in the 7300 block of Rhett Place and observed a parked vehicle associated with Hawkins in East Texas. Eventually, officers were able to identify Hawkins and as officers approached, Hawkins attempted to flee through the back door and was quickly apprehended by officers covering the rear.

Hawkins will remain in the Travis County Detention Center pending his extradition to Cherokee County.

Robert R. Almonte, United States Marshal for the Western District of Texas states, “The Lone Star Fugitive Task Force this afternoon removed a fugitive from the streets of our community and hopefully prevented future potential crime from occurring.”

Members of the Lone Star Fugitive Task Force in Austin –

  • Austin Police Department-Criminal Apprehension Team
  • Travis County Sheriff’s Office
  • Texas Department of Criminal Justice OIG
  • Texas Department of Public Safety
  • Texas Attorney General’s Office
  • Buda Police Department
  • Cedar Park Police Department
  • Kyle Police Department
  • Leander Police Department
  • San Marcos Police Department
  • Williamson, Caldwell, Hays and Bastrop County Sheriff’s Office
  • Williamson County DA’s Office
  • U.S. Marshals Service

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at


America’s Oldest Federal Law Enforcement Agency