News Banner

For Immediate Release

February 01, 2012 Andrew Deserto – Assistant Chief
Northern District of Ohio (216) 551-6234
U.S. Marshals Task Force Arrests Akron "Dangerous Dozen" Shooting Suspect

Akron, OH – Tramell Wilson, age 26, was wanted by the Akron Police on multiple counts of felonious assault, aggravated burglary, disorderly conduct and three contempt warrants.

In August of 2011, the Akron Police Department referred the case to the U.S. Marshals Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) for assistance with locating and apprehending Wilson. The NOVFTF, over the course of their investigation, has spent hundreds of man hours on the case.

Wilson’s charges stem from the shooting of two men in Akron. According to Akron Police reports, Wilson approached two men at approximately 3:00 a.m. on June 18, 2011 in a parking lot in the 2200 block of Romig Road. Police say Wilson shot one man between the legs and the other multiple times. Wilson fled the area immediately after the incident.

In November of 2011, the NOVFTF added Wilson to their most wanted “Dangerous Dozen” list. His picture was profiled in numerous media outlets resulting in numerous tips.

Earlier today, Task Force Officers from the NOVFTF Akron Division were conducting surveillance in the 200 block of Turner St. in Akron, when they spotted Wilson entering a residence. Task Force Officers called the Akron Police for back up and then approached the residence. After approximately 15 minutes, Wilson came out of the house and surrendered himself to the NOVFTF without incident. Wilson was transported to the Summit County Jail for booking.

Anyone with information regarding the whereabouts of a known fugitive is encouraged to contact the U.S. Marshals Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at: 1-866-4-WANTED or text keyword WANTED and the tip to 847411(tip411). Tipsters may remain anonymous and a cash reward may be available. The Task Force’s “Dangerous Dozen” fugitives can be viewed at, which is updated monthly.

The NOVFTF Akron Division consists of the following federal, state and local agencies: Akron Police Department, Barberton Police Department, Bath Township Police Department Boston Heights Village Police Department, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms, Copley Township Police Department, Cuyahoga Falls Police Department, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Hinckley Police Department, Kent Police Department, Medina Police Department, Montville Township Police Department, New Franklin Police Department, Northfield Village Police Department, Norton Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Portage County Prosecutor’s Office, Portage County Sheriff’s Office, Ravenna Police Department, Reminderville Police Department, Stow Police Department, Summit County Sheriff’s Office, Twinsburg Police Department, United States Marshals Service, United States Secret Service, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, University of Akron Police Department, Wadsworth Police Department.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at



America’s Oldest Federal Law Enforcement Agency