News Banner

For Immediate Release

December 16, 2011 Andrew Deserto – U.S. Marshal
Northern District of Ohio (216) 551-6234
U.S. Marshals Task Force Arrests Suspect who led
Cuyahoga Falls Police on High Speed Chase

NOVFTF LogoAkron, OH – The U.S. Marshals Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) Akron Division arrested Bobby L. Kennedy, age 38. Kennedy was wanted by the Cuyahoga Falls Police Department on speeding, OVI - under the influence of both alcohol and drugs, driving under suspension, fleeing and eluding police and child endangering that occurred on Monday in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio.

Kennedy led police on a high-speed chase Monday night with two children in the vehicle. The chase started at about 11:00 p.m. when a Cuyahoga Falls police officer clocked Kennedy driving 107 mph in a 55-mph zone, the 29 minute chase ended when Kennedy ran out of gas and fled on foot, leaving the two children alone in the vehicle. He was apprehended by an Akron Police Department K-9 unit. Kennedy was taken to Akron City Hospital for an injury to his arm caused when the Akron K9 apprehended him. After being treated at the hospital, Kennedy walked out, because he was not yet charged.

The Cuyahoga Falls Police Department immediately requested the assistance of the NOVFTF Akron Division with locating and apprehending Kennedy.

Kennedy was profiled in numerous media outlets that resulted in an enormous amount of tips from the public. A tip from a citizen who recognized Kennedy, initiated the sequence of events that brought him to justice. Task Force Officers conducted numerous interviews throughout the week and on Thursday those interviews led them to a residence on Spaulding Ave. in Akron. Kennedy was apprehended hiding in the closet of the residence.

Anyone with information regarding the whereabouts of a known fugitive is encouraged to contact the U.S. Marshals Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at: 1-866-4-WANTED or text keyword WANTED and the tip to 847411(tip411). Tipsters may remain anonymous.

The NOVFTF Akron Division consists of the following federal, state and local agencies: Akron Police Department, Barberton Police Department, Bath Township Police Department, Boston Heights Village Police Department, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms, Copley Township Police Department, Cuyahoga Falls Police Department, Department of Housing and Urban Development – OIG, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Hinckley Police Department, Kent Police Department, Medina Police Department, Montville Township Police Department, New Franklin Police Department, Northfield Village Police Department, Norton Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Portage County Prosecutor’s Office, Portage County Sheriff’s Office, Ravenna Police Department, Reminderville Police Department, Stow Police Department, Summit County Sheriff’s Office, Twinsburg Police Department, United States Marshals Service, United States Secret Service, University of Akron Police Department, Wadsworth Police Department.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at



America’s Oldest Federal Law Enforcement Agency