News Banner

For Immediate Release

August 18, 2011

Marty R. West, Supervisory Inspector

Florida Regional Fugitive Task Force 850-942-8395

USMS Headquarters Public Affairs (202) 307-9065

Task Force Locates Absconded Wakulla County Sex Offender

Crawfordville, FL – The US Marshals Florida Regional Fugitive Task Force (FRFTF) today announced the arrest of 39 year old Eric Sean Maxwell of Sopchoppy, Florida for the offenses of Failure to Register as a Sex Offender, Failure to Report Change of Address and Failure to Update Drivers License or Id Card. 


Maxwell was located and arrested by members of the FRFTF on August 16, 2011 in Fort Myers, Florida.  Detectives from the Wakulla County Sheriff’s Office requested the assistance of the Task Force after determining that Maxwell moved from his registered address in Sopchoppy, FL sometime after September 2010.  Wakulla Detectives were performing a standard residence check on Maxwell in March 2011 when they discovered that Maxwell had moved from the residence.  Maxwell was adjudicated as a Sex Offender by the State of Florida based on a 1992 arrest for Sexual Assault /Lewd and Lascivious Assault on a Child under 16 years of age and was required to register as a sex offender with the Wakulla County Sheriff’s Office every six months.  Task Force members received the case in April 2011 and spent the next 4 months running down various leads on Maxwell before finally learning that Maxwell was possibly in the South Florida area with a girlfriend.  FRFTF members contacted their US Marshal counterparts in Fort Myers who located Maxwell in the back bedroom of an apartment located in Fort Myers, FL.  Maxwell is currently being held in the Lee County Jail in Fort Myers awaiting extradition back to Crawfordville, Florida.

The Tallahassee Division of the FRFTF is comprised of law enforcement officers from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, Gadsden County Sheriff’s Office, Leon County Sheriff’s Office, Leon County State Attorney’s Office, Liberty County Sheriff’s Office, Madison County Sheriff’s Office, Perry Police Department, Tallahassee Police Department, Taylor County Sheriff’s Office, and the Wakulla County Sheriff’s Office.  These local law enforcement agencies contribute approximately 23 officers in both full time and part time roles with the officers sworn in as Special Deputy US Marshals.  This deputation allows the officers to cross their normal jurisdictional lines to pursue fugitives wanted for violent crimes by their departments and gives their respective agencies access to the full resources of the U.S. Marshals. 

The concept of all USMS-led fugitive task forces is to seek out and arrest the nation’s most dangerous offenders.  Additional information about the U.S. Marshals Service can be found at




America’s Oldest Federal Law Enforcement Agency