News Banner

For Immediate Release

August 13, 2010 DUSM Anthony Keffer, Northern District of Ohio (216) 522-2150
Task Force is Two for Two
With Lorain County Dangerous Dozen Fugitives
NOVFTF LogoElyria, Ohio – Wanted fugitives John Wilson, age 28, and Robert “Bobby” Cruz, age 43, were both added to the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force’s Most Wanted “Dangerous Dozen” list which was released on Wednesday to the public. Within 48 hours of the release, both are in custody due to tips received from the public. Wilson was arrested yesterday morning by the Task Force at approximately 11:00 a.m. in Elyria, Ohio. Wilson was wanted by the Elyria Police Department for two counts of felonious assault that occurred on July 8, 2010. Upon the release, the Task Force almost immediately received a call from a tipster which led to Wilson’s arrest at his girlfriend’s residence on W. River Road N in Elyria. Wilson was rumored to have a black handgun that he carried in a backpack. During the arrest investigators discovered a backpack with an airsoft handgun sticking out of the backpack.

Cruz, was also arrested yesterday evening after the Task Force received a tip that Cruz was staying with his uncle in Brookpark, Ohio. The Task Force requested assistance from the Brookpark Police Department, who immediately responded to the uncle’s residence on Hummel Road and arrested Cruz without incident. Cruz arrived to his uncle’s house earlier this week and asked if he could stay there for a little while because he didn’t have anywhere else to go.

Both fugitives were arrested on the same day that the media publicized the August edition of the Task Force’s Dangerous Dozen. The U.S. Marshals Service is grateful for the assistance from media and the public in apprehending these dangerous fugitives.

Acting Chief Deputy U.S. Marshal Drew Deserto, stated, “It is great to see law enforcement work together with the media and the community to bring these wanted fugitives to justice. In Lorain County, the public response has been instrumental in the successful apprehension of seven Dangerous Dozen fugitives since May 2010, when the program was initiated.”

Anyone with information regarding the whereabouts of a known fugitive is encouraged to contact the U.S. Marshals Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at: 1-866-4-WANTED. Callers may remain anonymous. The “Dangerous Dozen” fugitives can be viewed at

The Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force – Lorain County Division is composed of the following federal, state and local agencies: Amherst Police Department, Avon Police Department, Avon Lake Police Department, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms, Department of Housing and Urban Development – OIG, Elyria Police Department, Lorain County Adult Probation, Lorain Police Department, North Ridgeville Police Department, Oberlin Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Sheffield Village Police Department, U.S. Marshals Service and Vermilion Police Department.

Additional information about the U.S. Marshals can be found at