News Banner

For Immediate Release

March 19, 2010 Christopher Riley, Warrant Supervisor
United States Marshals (513) 200-3977;
USMS Headquarters Public Affairs (202) 307-9065
Convicted Sex Offender Apprehended

Cathy J. Jones, United States Marshal for the Southern District of Ohio, Springfield Police Chief Steve Moody, and Montgomery County Sheriff Phil Plummer announce the arrest of Derrick Lamont Caldwell after a two day man hunt covering both Clark and Montgomery Counties. Caldwell, a registered sex offender in Montgomery County, was wanted in Springfield for 2 counts of robbery and is also a suspect for an alleged abduction and assault that occurred in Springfield last week. Caldwell was also wanted in Montgomery County for failing to register as a sex offender after being convicted of 2 counts of rape, abduction, felonious assault and kidnapping. Caldwell was also on parole for a previous aggravated murder conviction and wanted by the Ohio Adult Parole Authority.

The U.S. Marshals led Southern Ohio Fugitive Apprehension Strike Team (SOFAST) began searching for Caldwell in Springfield on March 18 after receiving copies of the warrants. SOFAST quickly learned that Caldwell was driving a stolen vehicle and had stayed at various hotels in the Springfield area. After authorities exhausted all leads in Springfield, the search moved to Dayton. On the morning of March 19, SOFAST began checking addresses in Dayton and located the stolen vehicle in the 1600 block of Layton. The search then led members of SOFAST to the 500 block of Blanche in Dayton where they located and arrested Caldwell at his sister’s residence. Caldwell was arrested without any altercations and was transported to the Montgomery County Jail to await his court appearance.

The Southern Ohio Fugitive Apprehension Strike Team (SOFAST) attributes the arrest to the cooperation and teamwork of the task force’s participating agencies.  As a result of the combined effort, another violent offender is off the streets.  SOFAST is made up of various Federal, local and state agencies, to include the Dayton Police Department, Springfield Police Department, Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office, Clark County Sheriff’s Office and the Ohio Adult Parole Authority.

For more information about the U.S. Marshals Service, visit