Skip to Content

U.S. Marshals Service

Southern District of West Virginia - Area of Service  

U.S. Marshals Service offices are based on the organizational structure of the Federal District Court system.  West Virginia is divided into two judicial districts that are referred to as the Northern and Southern Districts of West Virginia.

Southern District of West Virginia:

The Southern District comprises the counties of Boone, Cabell, Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, McDowell, Mason, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Nicholas, Putnam, Raleigh, Roane, Summers, Wayne, Wirt, Wood, and Wyoming.

Court for the Southern District is held in Beckley, Bluefield, Charleston, Huntington, Lewisburg, and Parkersburg.

Map of West Virginia, Southern District Highlighted
For Marshals Service office contacts in other counties:

Northern District of West Virginia:

The Northern District comprises the counties of Barbour, Berkeley, Braxton, Brooke, Calhoun, Doddridge, Gilmer, Grant, Hampshire, Hancock, Hardy, Harrison, Jefferson, Lewis, Marion, Marshall, Mineral, Monongalia, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Pleasants, Pocahontas, Preston, Randolph, Ritchie, Taylor, Tucker, Tyler, Upshur, Webster, and Wetzel.

Court for the Northern District is held in Clarksburg, Elkins, Fairmont, Martinsburg, and Wheeling.

Map of West Virginia, Northern District Highlighted
The organizational structure of the district can be found in the United States Code Title 28, Part I, Chapter 5, Section 129 is an official site of the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. Department of Justice