Skip to Content

U.S. Marshals Service

Western District of Wisconsin

United States Marshal - Kim V. Gaffney



U.S. Marshal Kim Gaffney

On February 4th, 2019, Kim V. Gaffney was sworn-in as the 20th United States Marshal for the Western District of Wisconsin.

As the United States Marshal for the Western District of Wisconsin, Gaffney is responsible for enforcing all orders of the United States District Court in the western 40,000 square miles of Wisconsin. These duties include transportation and production of prisoners in federal court, execution of warrants, serving civil process, as well as seizing and auctioning property. Marshal Gaffney oversees the efforts of the Western District of Wisconsin arm of the Great Lakes Fugitive Task Force, responsible for arresting violent fugitives.

Marshal Gaffney was elected three times as Marquette County Sheriff, serving from 2007 to 2019. Throughout his executive career, Marshal Gaffney provided leadership for several professional police organizations. He served as President of the Badger State Sheriff’s Association, Co-Chair of The Wisconsin Training and Standards Board and Co-Chair of the Madison Area Technical College Advisory Board. In 2019, he departed the Marquette County Sherriff’s Department for appointment as United States Marshal for the Western District of Wisconsin.

Marshal Gaffney began his law enforcement career in 1975. From 1975 to 1979, Marshal Gaffney served as a Deputy at the Marquette County, WI, Sheriff’s Office. From 1979 to 1981, Marshal Gaffney briefly changed to federal law enforcement, working for the Federal Bureau of Prisons at the Federal Correctional Institution, Oxford, WI. In 1981, Marshal Gaffney rejoined the Marquette County Sheriff’s Office serving from 1981 to 1994 as a Detective Sergeant. From 1994 to 2007 as he served as Chief Deputy of that office.

Marshal Gaffney graduated in 1977 from the Fox Valley Technical College in Appleton, Wisconsin from the Law Enforcement Certification Academy. is an official site of the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. Department of Justice