Skip to Content

U.S. Marshals Service

District of Virgin Islands



On March 31, 1917, the United States purchased the then Danish West Indies from Denmark for $25 million in gold. The group of islands,  whose major islands include St. Croix, St. John, and St. Thomas,  thereafter became know as the Virgin Islands of the United States.

The District Court of the Virgin Islands is a member of the Third Circuit. The "district court" evolved through many different forms from 1917 to 1936. In 1936, Congress passed the Organic Act of 1936, which was signed into law by President Franklin D. Roosevelt on June 22, 1936. It was this Act that created the District Court of the Virgin Islands.




Armstrong, Douglas S. August 19, 1937 (A.G.) Original Appointment
Greer, William N. June 29, 1954 (A.G.) Armstrong (Resigned)
Farrelly, Stanley A. December 27, 1955 (A.G.) Greer (Resigned)
Roberts, Lionel V. September 15, 1961 (A.G.) Farrelly (Separated)
Francis, Alfred E. April 02, 1971 (A.G.) Roberts (Retired)
Carter, Melvin May 30, 1982 (A.G.) Francis (Term Expired)
Washington, John W. February 28, 1984 Carter (A.G.)
Boyd, Reginald L. September 30, 1985 Washington (Reassigned)
* Washington, John W. October 02, 1988 Boyd (Reassigned)
McKinney, Louie January 06, 1992 Washington
Bagley, Kernan H. July 07, 1993 McKinney (Resigned)
* McKinney, Louie  1997 - 1998  
Rich, Walter N. 1997 - 1998  
Hoover, Conrad R. 1998 - February 2007  
Sullivan, James M. March 2007 to Present  


* - Reappointment
(A.G.) - Attorney General appointment date is an official site of the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. Department of Justice