Skip to Content

U.S. Marshals Service

History of U.S. Marshals - District of New Hampshire

On Sept. 24, 2014 the U.S. Marshals Service commemorated its 225th anniversary. As the nation’s oldest and most versatile federal law enforcement agency, the Marshals Service occupies a uniquely central position in the federal justice system. It is the enforcement arm of the federal courts, involved in virtually every federal law enforcement initiative.

Established Sept. 24, 1789, when President George Washington signed the Judiciary Act into law, the Service has grown from the 13 original U.S. Marshals to a force of 5,400 deputies and civil servants dedicated to carrying out missions as varied as apprehending fugitives, housing and transporting prisoners, protecting witnesses and federal judges, and managing and selling seized assets. Marking this tremendous milestone of 225 years, the U.S. Marshals Service is proud of its legendary origins and continues its steadfast commitment to answer the call of a great nation.

The U.S. Marshals' responsibilities in today's world are far-reaching. They are one of the most active federal agencies, and the least restricted. The marshals are the only generalized federal law enforcement agency. Unlike the many bureaus of the federal government, they are not limited to rigidly structured tasks. As a result, they can accommodate their activities to the changing needs of the federal government and courts.

The current United States Marshal for the District of New Hampshire is Mr. David L. Cargill, Jr. who was appointed as the U.S. Marshal in 2009. Marshal Cargill heads an office which includes a Chief Deputy U.S. Marshal, a Supervisory Deputy U.S. Marshal, a Judicial Security Inspector, a Sex Offender Investigations Coordinator, six Deputy U.S. Marshals, and five support administrators.

One of the original 13 States, District Court created by the Judiciary Act of September 24, 1789.

U.S. Marshals for the District of New Hampshire
1789 - Present

Marshal Date
Parker, John 1789-1791
Rogers, Nathaniel 1791-1798
Cilley, Bradbury 1798-1802
McClary, Michael 1802-1824
Cogswell, Pearson 1824-1836
Lane, Charles 1836-1841
Kelley, Israel W. 1841-1845
Barton, Cyrus 1845-1850
Garfield, Samuel 1850-1853
Swasey, Samuel 1853
Tilton, Samuel 1853-1858
Dearborn, Stephen W. 1858-1861
Gilman, Josephy 1861
Ela, Jacob H. 1861-1866
Jarris, Russell 1866-1867
Patterson, Joab N. 1867-1886
Barker, Fred A. 1886-1890
Pierce, Adams T. 1890-1894
Campbell, Clark 1894-1899
Nute, Eugene P. 1899-1914
O'Neill, Charles J. 1914-1920
Murchie, William 1920
LaChance, Jospeh E. 1920-1921
Donnelly, Thomas B. 1921-1923
Phillips, Perley B. 1923-1925
Chretien, Alfred J. 1925-1934
Guay, John M. 1934-1945
Roy, Alphonse 1945-1953
Colbath, George A. 1953-1961
Dion, Royal 1961-1963
April, Paul G. 1963-1969
Cardosi, Victor 1969-1977
Brunelle, Richard 1977
Raiche, Robert E. 1977-1981
Brunelle, Richard 1981
Daniels, Ronald D. 1981-1988
Waite, Donald 1988-1990
Goldberg, Sydney A. 1990
Gilbert, Robert F. 1990-1994
Gagnon, Raymond G. 1994-2002
Monier, Stephen R. 2002-2009
Cargill, David 2009 - Present is an official site of the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. Department of Justice