Skip to Content

U.S. Marshals Service


U.S. Marshals Service offices are based on the organizational structure of the Federal District Court system.  Tennessee is divided into three judicial districts that are referred to as the Eastern, Middle, and Western Districts of Tennessee.
Map of Tennessee  

Eastern District of Tennessee:

The Eastern District comprises the counties of  Anderson, Bedford, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Carter, Claiborne, Cocke, Coffee, Franklin, Grainger, Greene, Grundy, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hawkins, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Lincoln, Loudon, Marion, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Moore, Morgan, Polk, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, Sullivan, Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Warren and Washington.

Court for the Eastern District is held in Knoxville, Greeneville, Chattanooga and Winchester.


Middle District of Tennessee:

The Middle District comprises the counties of Cannon, Cheatham, Clay, Cumberland, Davidson, De Kalb, Dickson, Fentress, Jackson, Giles, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Lawrence, Lewis, Marshall, Maury, Macon, Montgomery, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Robertson, Rutherford, Smith, Stewart, Sumner, Trousdale, Wayne, Williamson, Wilson and White.

Court for the Middle District is held in Nashville, Cookeville and Columbia.


Western District of Tennessee:

The Western District comprises the counties of Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Tipton and Weakley.

Court for the Western District is held in Memphis, Jackson and Dyersburg.

The organizational structure of the district can be found in the United States Code Title 28, Part I, Chapter 5, Section 123 is an official site of the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. Department of Justice