Skip to Content

U.S. Marshals Service


U.S. Marshals Service offices are based on the organizational structure of the Federal District Court system. Illinois is divided into three judicial districts that are referred to as the Central, Northern and Southern Districts of Illinois.
Map of Illinois, Central District Highlighted Central District of Illinois:

The Central District comprises the counties of Adams, Brown, Bureau, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Coles, De Witt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Iroquois, Kankakee, Knox, Livingston, Logan, McDonough, McLean, Macoupin, Macon, Marshall, Mason, Menard, Mercer, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Peoria, Piatt, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Vermilion, Warren, and Woodford.

Court for the Central District is held in Springfield, Champaign/Urbana, Danville, Peoria, Quincy and Rock Island.

 Map of Illinois, Northern District Highlighted  

Northern District of Illinois:

The Northern District comprises the counties of Boone, Carroll, Cook, De Kalb, Du Page, Grundy, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kendall, Lake, La Salle, Lee, McHenry, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, Will and Winnebago.

Court for the Northern District is held in Chicago and Rockford.

Map of Illinois, Southern District Highlighted  

Southern District of Illinois:

The Southern District comprises the counties of Alexander, Bond, Calhoun, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Cumberland, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jersey, Johnson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, St. Clair, Saline, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White, and Williamson.

Court for the Southern District is held in East Saint Louis, Alton, Benton and Cairo.

The organizational structure of the district can be found in the United States Code Title 28, Part I, Chapter 5, Section 93. is an official site of the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. Department of Justice