Skip to Content

U.S. Marshals Service

Western District of Michigan - Area of Service  

U.S. Marshals Service offices are based on the organizational structure of the Federal District Court system.  Michigan is divided into two judicial districts that are referred to as the Eastern and Western Districts of Michigan.

Western District of Michigan: 

The Western District comprises the counties of Alger, Allegan, Antrim, Baraga, Barry, Benzie, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Charlevoix, Chippewa, Clinton, Delta, Dickinson, Eaton, Emmet, Gogebic, Grand Traverse, Hillsdale, Houghton, Ingham, Ionia, Iron, Kalamazoo, Kalkaska, Kent, Keweenaw, Lake, Leelanau, Luce, Mackinac, Manistee, Marquette, Mason, Mecosta, Menominee, Missaukee, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Ontonagon, Osceola, Ottawa, Saint Joseph, Schoolcraft, Van Buren and Wexford.

Court for the Western District is held in Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Lansing, Marquette, Sault Sainte Marie and Traverse City.

Map of Michigan

For Marshals Service office contacts in other counties:

Eastern District of Michigan:

The Eastern District comprises the counties of Alcona, Alpena, Arenac, Bay, Cheboygan, Clare, Crawford, Genesee, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Iosco, Isabella, Jackson, Lapeer, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, Midland, Monroe, Montmorency, Oakland, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Saginaw, Saint Clair, Sanilac, Shiawassee, Tuscola, Washtenaw and Wayne.

Court for the Eastern District is held in Detroit, Ann Arbor, Bay City, Flint and Port Huron.

Map of Michigan

The organizational structure of the district can be found in the United States Code Title 28, Part I, Chapter 5, Section 102. is an official site of the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. Department of Justice