Skip to Content

U.S. Marshals Service

District of Hawaii



The Territory of Hawaii was established in 1900.  The District of Hawaii was established on March 18, 1959 and was effective upon Hawaii's admission as a Sate on August 21, 1959.

The following is a listing of former United States Marshals for the Territory and District of Hawaii.




Territory Marshals
DAY, Daniel A. June 4, 1900 (C) Original Appointment
HENDRY, Eugene R. October 9, 1901 (R)
January 23, 1902
Ray (Deceased)
HOLT, Henry H. April 24, 1912 (C.A.) Hendry (Deceased)
SMIDDY, Jerome J. September 11, 1914 (C) Holt (C.A.)
COX, Oscar P. August 16, 1921 (C)
March 5, 1928 (C)
Smiddy (Term Expired)
HEINE, Otto F. June 18, 1934 (C)
June 26, 1940
Cox (Resigned)
CLARK, Thomas R. May 20, 1954 (C) Heine (Term Expired)
District Marshals
CLARK, Thomas R. August 21, 1959 Himself as Marshal of Hawaii Territory
PETRIE, Wesley May 16, 1961 (C) Clark (Term Expired)
KAULUKUKUI, Thomas K. May 13, 1969 (C)
June 24, 1965 (C)
Petrie (Separated)
KELIIKOA, Edward N. October 7, 1977 (C) Kaulukukui (Resigned)
PROPOTNICK, James L. September 1, 1980 (C.A.) Keliikoa (Resigned)
EVANS, Faith P. August 12, 1982 (C) Propotnick
PROPOTNICK, James L. February 1, 1991 (A.G.) Evans (Term Expired)
KENT, Annette October 9, 1992 (C) Propotnick
TAGAMORA, Howard  September 4, 1998 Kent
FERSTL, Michael October 5, 2002 Tagamora
HANOHANO, Mark M. June 4, 2003 Term Expired
MIYAMOTO, Gervin K. June 17, 2010


The following translation of abbreviations applies to the list:
        "R" - Recess appointment date
        "S" - Senate Confirmation date (used from 1789-1903)
        "C" - Commission date (used from 1903 to present)
        "C.A." - Court Appointment date
        "A.G." - Attorney General appointment date is an official site of the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. Department of Justice