Skip to Content

U.S. Marshals Service

Southern District of Georgia - Area of Service

U.S. Marshals Service offices are based on the organizational structure of the Federal District Court system.  Georgia is divided into three judicial districts that are referred to as the Southern, Northern, and Middle Districts of Georgia.

Southern District of Georgia: Established on August 11, 1848.

The Southern District comprises the counties of Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Coffee, Columbia, Dodge, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Glynn, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, Liberty, Lincoln, Long, McDuffie, McIntosh, Montgomery, Pierce, Richmond, Screven, Taliaferro, Tattnall, Telfair, Toombs, Treutlen, Ware, Warren, Wayne, Wheeler and Wilkes.

Court for the Southern District is held in Savannah, Augusta, Dublin, Waycross, Brunswick and Statesboro.


Map of Georgia - Southern District Highlighted

For Marshals Service office contacts in other counties:

The Middle District of Georgia comprises seven divisions.

The Athens Division comprises the counties of Clarke, Elbert, Franklin, Greene, Hart, Madison, Morgan, Oconee, Oglethorpe, and Walton.

Court for the Athens Division shall be held at Athens.

The Macon Division comprises the counties of Baldwin, Bibb, Bleckley, Butts, Crawford, Hancock, Houston, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Monroe, Peach, Pulaski, Putnam, Twiggs, Upson, Washington, and Wilkinson.

Court for the Macon Division shall be held at Macon.

The Columbus Division comprises the counties of Chattahoochee, Clay, Harris, Marion, Muscogee, Quitman, Randolph, Stewart, Talbot, and Taylor.

Court for the Columbus Division shall be held at Columbus.

The Americus Division comprises the counties of Ben Hill, Crisp, Dooly, Lee, Macon, Schley, Sumter, Terrell, Webster, and Wilcox.

Court for the Americus Division shall be held at Americus.

The Albany Division comprises the counties of Baker, Calhoun, Dougherty, Early, Miller, Mitchell, Turner, and Worth.

Court for the Albany Division shall be held at Albany.

The Valdosta Division comprises the counties of Berrien, Clinch, Cook, Echols, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, and Tift.

Court for the Valdosta Division shall be held at Valdosta.

Map of Georgia - Middle District Highlighted

Northern District of Georgia: Established on August 11, 1848.

The Northern District comprises the counties of Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, Dade, Dawson, De Kalb, Douglas, Fannin, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Fulton, Gilmer, Gordon, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Haralson, Heard, Henry, Jackson, Lumpkin, Meriwether, Murray, Newton, Paulding, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Rabun, Rockdale, Spalding, Stephens, Towns, Troup, Union, Walker, White and Whitfield.

Court for the Northern District is held in Atlanta, Gainesville, Rome and Newnan.

Map of Georgia - Northern District Highlighted

The organizational structure of the district can be found in the United States Code Title 28, Part I, Chapter 5, Section 90. is an official site of the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. Department of Justice