Skip to Content

U.S. Marshals Service

Deputy U.S. Marshal Examination Regions

Region 1

District of Maine (D/ME)

- Includes Portland, Bangor

District of New Hampshire (D/NH)

- Includes Concord

District of Vermont (D/VT)

- Includes Burlington, Rutland, Brattleboro

Northern District of New York (N/NY)

- Includes Syracuse, Binghamton, Utica, Albany

Eastern District of New York (E/NY)

- Includes Brooklyn, Central Islip

Southern District of New York (S/NY)

- Includes New York City, White Plains

Western District of New York (W/NY)

- Includes Buffalo, Rochester

District of Massachusetts (D/MA)

- Includes Boston, Springfield, Worcester

District of Connecticut (D/CT)

- Includes New Haven, Bridgeport, Hartford

District of Rhode Island (D/RI)

- Includes Providence

Eastern District of Pennsylvania (E/PA)

- Includes Philadelphia, Reading, Allentown

Middle District of Pennsylvania (M/PA)

- Includes Scranton, Wilkes-Barr, Williamsport, Harrisburg, Camp Hill

Western District of Pennsylvania (W/PA)

- Includes Pittsburgh, Johnstown, Eerie

District of New Jersey (D/NJ)

- Includes Newark, Trenton, Camden

District of Delaware (D/DE)

- Includes Wilmington

Region 2

District of Columbia (DC/DC)

District of Columbia (Superior Court)

Eastern District of Kentucky (E/KY)

- Includes Lexington, Frankfort, Pikeville, London, Ashland, Covington

Western District of Kentucky (W/KY)

- Includes Louisville, Bowling Green, Owensville, Paducah

District of Maryland (D/MD)

- Includes Baltimore, Greenbelt

Eastern District of North Carolina (E/NC)

- Includes Raleigh, New Bem, Fayetteville, Wilmington, Greenville, Elizabeth City

Middle District of North Carolina (M/NC)

-Includes Greensboro, Durham, Winston-Salem

Western District of North Carolina (W/NC)

- Includes Charlotte, Ashville

District of South Carolina (D/SC)

- Includes Columbia, Florence, Spartanburg, Greenville, Charleston

Eastern District of Tennessee (E/TN)

- Includes Knoxville, Greeneville, Chattanooga

Middle District of Tennessee (M/TN)

- Includes Nashville

Western District of Tennessee (W/TN)

- Includes Memphis, Jackson

Eastern District of Virginia (E/VA)

- Includes Alexandria, Richmond, Newport News, Norfolk

Western District of Virginia (W/VA)

- Includes Roanoke, Charlottesville, Harrisonburg, Lynchburg, Abingdon

Northern District of West Virginia (N/WV)

- Includes Clarksburg, Elkins, Martinsburg

Southern District of West Virginia (S/WV)

-Includes Charleston, Huntington, Beckley, Bluefield

Region 3

Northern District of Alabama (N/AL

- Includes Birmingham, Huntsville, Tuscaloosa

Middle District of Alabama (M/AL)

- Includes Montgomery, Dothan

Southern District of Alabama (S/AL)

- Includes Mobile

Middle District of Florida (M/FL)

- Includes Tampa, Orlando, Ocala, Jacksonville, Ft. Myers

Northern District of Florida (N/FL)

- Includes Tallahassee, Panama City, Pensacola, Gainesville

Southern District of Florida (S/FL)

- Includes Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, West Palm Beach, Ft. Pierce

Middle District of Georgia (M/GA)

- Includes Macon, Columbus, Albany

Northern District of Georgia (N/GA)

- Includes Atlanta, Gainesville, Rome

Southern District of Georgia (S/GA)

- Includes Savannah, Statesboro, Augusta, Brunswick

Northern District of Mississippi (N/MS)

- Includes Oxford, Aberdeen, Greensville

Southern District of Mississippi (S/MS)

- Includes Jackson, Hattiesburg

Region 4

Northern District of Iowa (N/IA)

- Includes Cedar Rapids, Sioux City

Southern District of Iowa (S/IA)

- Includes Des Moines, Davenport

Central District of Illinois (C/IL)

- Includes Springfield, Urbana, Peoria, Rock Island

Northern District of Illinois (N/IL)

- Includes Chicago, Rockford

Southern District of Illinois (S/IL)

- Includes East St. Louis, Benton

Northern District of Indiana (N/IN)

- Includes South Bend, Ft. Wayne, Hammond

Southern District of Indiana (S/IN)

- Includes Indianapolis, Terre Haute, New Albany, Evansville

Eastern District of Michigan (E/MI)

- Includes Detroit, Bay City, Port Huron, Flint Ann Arbor

Western District of Michigan (W/MI)

- Includes Grand Rapids, Lansing, Kalamazoo, Marquette

Eastern District of Missouri (E/MO)

- Includes St. Louis, Cape Girardeau

Western District of Missouri (W/MO)

- Includes Kansas City, Jefferson City, Springfield

Northern District of Ohio (N/OH)

- Includes Cleveland, Toledo, Akron, Youngstown, Wheeling

Southern District of Ohio (S/OH)

- Includes Columbus, Dayton, Cincinnati

Eastern District of Wisconsin (E/WI)

- Includes Milwaukee, Green bay

Western District of Wisconsin (W/WI)

- Includes Madison

Region 5

Eastern District of Arkansas (E/AR)

- Includes Little Rock, Jonesboro

Western District of Arkansas (W/AR)

- Includes Ft. Smith, Fayetteville, Hot Springs, Texarkana, El Dorado

Eastern District of Louisiana (E/LA)

- Includes New Orleans, Houma

Middle District of Louisiana (M/LA)

- Includes Baton Rouge

Western District of Louisiana (W/LA)

- Includes Shreveport, Monroe, Alexandria, Lake Charles

Eastern District of Oklahoma (E/OK)

- Includes Muskogee

Northern District of Oklahoma (N/OK)

- Includes Tulsa

Western District of Oklahoma (W/OK)

- Includes Oklahoma City, Lawton

Eastern District of Texas (E/TX)

- Includes Tyler, Marshall, Sherman, Beaumont, Texarkana

Northern District of Texas (N/TX)

- Includes Dallas, Ft. Worth, San Angelo, Lubbock, Amarillo


Deputy U.S. Marshals at Work


Seizing a truck container

Escorting a Federal judge

Transporting prisoners

More photos.... is an official site of the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. Department of Justice